We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful setting and beautiful surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
Hendre Fechan cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge
We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Country style kitchen
On suite
The lounge (a wood burning stove was installed in June 2017)
Lounge
Kitchen
View from the front door
Bathroom
The cottage
The cottage
Bridal path near cottage
Barmouth bridge with Cader Idris in the background
Mawddach estuary
Barmouth bridge
View with the cottage in the background
Cottage garden
Stunning winter view of the mawddach estuary
View of Barmouth Bridge from Morfa Mawddach beach. Really secluded and stunning
Morfa Mawddach beach
Morfa Mawddach is on the other side of the estuary from Barmouth. Taken in April 2016
Sunset views from Morfa Mawddach
To access this beach, walk over Barmouth Bridge and cross over the railway to the beach via footpath
Taly-Bont beach
Taly-Bont beach sunset in October 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Talybont, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

To start if anyone is looking for a cottage to relax and retreat and travel the area its so lovely .. as we found the cottage lane we was a bit worried that if we had had a nice car it would not of been great to take up this track, we were lucky and had a 4x4 so it was not a problem .the cottage has a front garden only !! that has the most beautiful views to sit in the garden and just stare at the sea views was amazing , we was told by the owner not to let the dogs run free which is quite right as she has her own big dogs so leads needed at all time and the wall in the garden can be jumped as my dog proved that also dogs can not run around in front garden as it churns up the grass so we had to walk on egg shells a bit really which was the only worry for us , the cottage is clean and tidy but to see an amazing fire place like that and to have no real fire is so sad but that's just me been me , the underfloor heating is fab and cosy . the television is very limited it says sky but the sky runs the channels so you are very limited to watching tv we stayed in a lot so we did watch telly and the thing that was great was we did have wi fi and it worked great ,, there is no phone signal at all so for those who run a business like me will love that . there is a washer dryer which is fab after them long walks .. from the cottage you can walk to the end of the lane and you will cross over road and walk down sunny sand lane and come to the beach , you will not find better beaches. there are no pubs you can walk to really and fall back home so get lots of beer and wine to take with you . we have recommended this cottage to many of our friends , I'm sure we will return the girls who look after the cottage leave you too it so your not watched to a degree lovely people , my comments are all positive and hope they help when choosing this cottage .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the fact that the dogs never had a back garden that was safe to run around with out us worring
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your lovely review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. It was lovely meeting you and your husband with your two beautiful boxers.


I am sorry I did not mean to make you uncomfortable about the dogs in the garden. It had been unusually wet and patches of mud were appearing where your dogs were playing. This has never been an issue before, I am very sorry.


We do have to ask for larger athletic dogs to be kept under supervision in the garden. We are in the middle of sheep country and we have horses, however they can roam free in the garden as long as they are watched. We do have two labradors but they get on very well with other peoples dogs.

Our lane is a country lane and can be a bit bumpy, we own a Peugeot 308 that goes up and down the lane at least 4 times a day. As long as the lane is driven slowly cars should find it no problem.

I'm sorry you missed the Ysgethin pub and Tonys restaurant. They are approximately a 15 minute walk over the fields in Talybont. When you next visit I will walk and show you our local haunt.

All the best
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely cottage, the weather was perfect and our lurcher dog Ted enjoyed relaxing in the secluded garden which was fenced off so he couldn't escape.
The kitchen was very well equipped so was the lovely bathroom with underfloor heating.
We would defiantly recommend this cottage to our friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Dear Carole;
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you and Ted had a lovely stay.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empress13
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“fabulous private peaceful cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a real gem of a place, really private yet near popular Barmouth for groceries and pubs etc and near miles of unspoilt sandy beaches. Samantha could'nt be more helpful and lovely and walking past the idylic fields and woods through the rolling countryside past sheep and cows to get to the beach was fun. The cottage has real charm and is in tip top condtion. A great hideaway.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
HI; It was lovely to meet you, I am glad you had a wonderful stay.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, lovely location.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the cottage very comfortable and well equipped. The location was excellent, being in the peace and quiet of the countryside yet just a few minutes' drive from Barmouth. The sea view from the cottage was lovely and we enjoyed the occasional visit of Spotty the cat who was very friendly and fussy. There are lots of places to walk and cycle in stunning scenery, and we would love to return to do all the things we ran out of time for. Samantha was also most helpful. Although we couldn't get a phone signal, the wifi was most useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage had character, being 400 years old, yet was well furnished and very comfortable.
Liked least: My husband wasn't so keen on the driveway to the property but it is worth it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
HI Julie, Thank you for your lovely review, Hope to see you again.

All the best

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesy201...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect winter break”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cosy little cottage,just what we wanted.Peace and quite with a lovely see view.There was everything we needed in the cottage.It was clean and tidy,the bed was very comfortable.This will be our base for our regular visits to Barmouth,we cant wait to book again.Its a lovely walk from the cottage into Barmouth in just over an hour. Must remember a torch next time for the dark lane back upto the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piece and quite with a sea view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Hello; Thank you for your lovely review I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, look forward to seeing you again.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful little cottage in an excellent location; sure, the track up is bumpy but not insurmountable.
Loved the under floor heating, shame it wasn't working in the lounge. Also I would echo previous comment about having a real fire in that stunning fireplace!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Dear Sheila, Thank you for your lovely review, we are looking into a log fire for the future.

Hope to see you again some time.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davsar99
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I & our puppy stayed here a few days before christmas to escape all the hustle & bustle of christmas and that's exactly what we got. It was a lovely peaceful area, we all enjoyed walks on the beach & enjoyed just chilling out, the cottage was almost perfect. The only thing that let it down was that it had a great big fireplace with a fake log burner which didn't give off any heat.. A real one would have been excellent & made our weekend perfect but other than that we had no complaints.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Hello;
I am glad you had a lovely Christmas here and enjoyed our peaceful cottage. Hopefully we will see you again some time soon.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing