We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talybont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnysands Caravan Park
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have read the reviews and was quite apprehensive about our trip to sunnysands, quite frightened by the prospect of bumping into feral kids, chavy brummies etc! The caravan park is perfectly situated, a short stroll to the gorgeous beach, the staff in reception were friendly and very helpful as were the staff in the shop. The only problem I had was with a man that had learning difficulties pestering my daughter in the swimming pool. My daughter (13) was petrified as he was being rude and totally inappropriate. The life guard was very good when I complained and the man was banned from using the pool whilst children were in there. As for chavy brummies? Being a brummie myself i can only say most of the people are actually Black Country not brummies lol

Stayed: July 2013
4  Thank claire and ash c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been visiting this site since the early 70's when i used to come with my parents, now i have a 10 year old son of my own and visit every Easter and try to get a few cheeky visits wherever possible, this is a beautiful part of the world and we always have a great time.
We avoid the clubhouse as this is not my cup of tea and i always stay on the mountain side which is quiet and i can keep an eye on my son when hes playing on the park.
I can say that the staff are friendly i have had few causes to complain in the 18 years i have been visiting as an adult, occasionally there are issues with the caravan not being clean but by far the positives out weigh the negatives and i will always return.
I just came back from a 2 day visit with myself and my son and were given a one bed 4 berth mountain view next to the park and it was perfect for just the 2 of us. The weather was amazing 25 degrees and we had a full day and a half on the beach which on the whole was lovely, however i was absolutely appalled and disgusted at the fact that people with dogs were mixing and using the same part of the beach as people with children - the dogs were peeing and doing their dirt on the beach where children were playing - one woman let her dog pee in one of the pools left by the sea where children were actually playing at the time!! what are these people thinking?? i for one don't want my son playing in pee infested water on the beach and i certainly dont want someones mangy dog sniffing me whilst im having time with my son on the beach!
Further up the coast at Harlech dogs are only allowed on one side of the beach leaving the other free for people who would rather not be walking through dog pee and poo.
I was totally amazed at the people who think that we all want a bath in dog urine!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We go every year and is definitely the best holidays we have had. Way better then the popular sites like haven. The staff are much friendlier. There's entertainment at the clubhouse almost every night which gets everyone involved. When the weather is great the beach is amazing to relax on. And when it's raining you can go swimming.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superstar9890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first holiday together since wed had kids, and it will now be visited by us every year,the people are friendly, the entertainment is brilliant, the views are amazing, our children are 1 and 3 years, theire first holiday and they loved it we've only been back 2 days and were already planning on booking for september.... definitely recomend to anyone planning a freindly family/couple, escape.....xxx

Room Tip: The pool is very pleasant,and is a great environment for children....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bipola83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from my first visit to Sunnysands and will say its definatley not going to be my last, although I did go 10th June so not many kids there. The site was clean, staff friendly and helpful (they must have read previous reviews!) the shop was well stocked and not bad prices, chippie ok, cafe ok, nothing special. I never used the club house so can't comment but we did look around it when we arrived, it looked new with large glass doors at the back which opened onto an outside seating area overlooking the beach. I stayed with my toddler grandaughter in a privately owned caravan which was spotless, the site was safe and everyone spoke to say hi or good morning. The only negative, absolutley no mobile phone signal (I'm on o2). All in all, a really nice site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank scwone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Firstly I must say I been coming here for over 25 years, and have gradually seen the place decline. Though it was never amazing to begin with. The tipping point for me was the fact that my disabled son was assaulted by a vile chavy drunken woman. I am an educated and professional person and with the benefit of hindsight I should have called the police but I'm simply not used to dealing with the clientèle that now sadly frequent the park and plus my mother's health was poor at the time of our visit so I chose to let the incident go.

There is no proper security and the park can be difficult to navigate because of the creater sized holes in the ground surrounding the site and caravans. Power cuts and unsupervised kids are also a bain of this site. Though the views and sunsets can be stunning. The views can also be had at the neighbouring site. People here seem to have appropriate family values and respect for others.I've had a long history of decent family holidays at Sunnysands buti won't be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsO24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited here for 3 night in our tourer, I knew of the site, but had never stayed on it. On the approach with a 27ft touring caravan and a land rover, in the dark the hump back bridge is pretty scary, but once over that its plain sailing. Pitches are pretty big, enough room for a full size awning and to park your car, very accommodating, if arriving after 5pm, keys for showers etc will be left I the bar. Full fat (16amp) electric to each grass pitch and full access to the entertainment and bar included in price, this site is a little chavy and does attract the brummies, but it's what you expect from mid Wales really. This site is right on the beach, only a 200yard walk from the pitches, little shop for groceries, fish and chip shop, bar and arcade, enough space for the kids to play and accepts dogs too. The water stand pipe has seen better days and kept falling over, but apart from that, pretty good little site, will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnysands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnysands Caravan Park

Address: Talybont, Barmouth LL43 2LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Talybont
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Talybont
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Sunnysands Caravan Park Hotel Talybont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing