We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estuary Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estuary Cottage
Ranked #2 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped here on several occasions and have never been disappointed.Just come back from a very enjoyable weekend break in Talsarnau to visit friends and my stay at the Estuary Cottage was first class and Bobs breakfasts are to die for. We are back down there for New Year and have had no hesitation in booking to stop there again. The views are fantastic and the station is handily placed right next to the Cottage but you hardly hear the trains passing. Bob and Annes hospitality is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. Would definately recommend this to anyone for a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Procky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at Estuary Cottage on several occasions and it really is a 'home from home'. The accomodation is immaculate and the hosts, Ann and Bob couldn't be more welcoming. Bob's breakfasts are amazing and set you up for the day. The setting is excellent with wonderful views and the large, well-kept garden is great for relaxing in. There is ample car parking and the Cottage is very close to the coastal footpath and the rail link. The train does pass in front of the Cottage, but it's not a problem - it just adds to the quaintness of the setting.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ann and Bob. In fact, we have already booked another stay again in a few week's time, and we hope to do so for many years to come.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is a bit bigger than the Garden room, but both rooms are excellent, with everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinackVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Strictly speaking that should be reasons, Anne and Bob strike the balance the balance of being hosts and leaving you to your own devices if you wish perfectly. Being off the main road is a real plus for us and the access to the estuary and the coastal walk combined with the rail service is one of the cherries.

The convenience of a evening meal if you wish and the flexibility of the breakfast start time works for me as well, but don't make the mistake I did of eating to much the prior evening as you will not have the room to do it justice. (They do lighter options though)

There is a drawback for us, but is is only one. They are too far away...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed twice this year at Estuary Cottage - first time as a family and this time as a couple - and find it an excellent place to stay. Ann and Bob are really friendly and helpful and the accommodation is extremely clean and comfortable. The location is wonderful being so close to the coastal footpath and on a fine evening the peaceful location and natural beauty (including the spectacular view of Snowdon) cannot be beaten. We spent a couple of very enjoyable evenings in June with a glass of wine on the balcony..........
Do not be put off by the location of the train line as it's a really tiny train which only runs every 2 hours and it is actually very useful being next to the station to be able to travel without a car along the coast - particularly as it is free outside the main season.
Really recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stopped here in late October and it was great. Bob and Ann cannot do enough for you with the option of an evening meal if you are too tired to walk to the only restaurant in the village! The view from the bedroom is fantastic and there local knowledge is invaluable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewalkerofthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Believe the majority of views who have found this to be wonderful and disregard the vindictive invective one with I guess an ulterior motive. This accomodation is great, comfortable rooms, a visitors lounge, television if you want it, books, magazines and lots of information on the area. Estuary Cottage provides you with all you need for an enjoyable stay be it for one night, a week or longer. Ann and Bob are friendly, welcoming and are happy to chat if you want some conversation but respect your privacy and enable you to enoy your own space. As we were walkers they at short notice provided us with an evening meal which was much appreciated. The breakfast was first class. As for the trains, there are not many, they are two carriages, they don't run at night, they're quiet and unobtrusive and are all part of the charm of this accommodation. Beautiful views. We'll certainly visit again and recommend it to you.

Room Tip: No tips required, light with good window space and well fitted out, you'll like them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHOB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice views but the accomodation was more like a garden shed than garden room as described, so when it rained, as it does in Wales, it made a real din!
A previous review said it was handy for the train but didn't mention that it was actually on the side of the track and everytime a train came it hooted, during the day not really a problem but the first one was about 6 in the norning and the last closer to 11 at night.
Bob and Ann are fine but Ann does talk at you a bit, sometimes my partner and me just want peace so you need to go for a wealk to get away from her.
The road comes out in the middle of the village on a bit of a hill and it's a really hard to see, if the traffic is busy its a nightmare to get out, specially if you're going towards Harlech, more than once we turned out the other way, turned round and joind the Harlech trafic.

All in all not what we expected so that is why I decided to do a review. All the others seem to say it's the best thing since sliced bread, but it has some drawbacks, more than the plusses.

Spend more and get a proper Hotel/B&B

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 6 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 23 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Cottage

Property: Estuary Cottage
Address: Station Road | Station Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Cottage bed and breakfast. Ideally located for most attractions in Snowdonia. Golf close by, Great walking area.Wales Coastal Path very close. Quiet location, off road parking, all rooms en suite. All rooms are self contained with own private access giving complete privacy. Large grounds and ample sitting out areas to enjoy the panoramic views all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Estuary Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Cottage Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing