We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast in a lovely setting”
Review of Gwrach Ynys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwrach Ynys
Ranked #4 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Lovely detached period residence just outside of Harlech. Made very welcome,tea on arrival. Room very clean and presentable. Bed comfortable and breakfast very good both mornings. Only one complaint was that the shower pressure was poor but didn't detract from our experience. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shifty8934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gwin and Debrah were excellent hosts with a cheerful disposition, the house is very clean and well kept with fine examples of Welsh dressers in both Lounge and Dining room. Situated on its own the location is very peaceful but in easy reach of Harlech. Maybe the only downfall to our stay there is the feather filled pillows, hence the marking down on the sleep quality. An excellent all round B&B which we will visit again the next time we are in that area.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow if you dont like feathers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I travelled seperately to North Wales for a few days of relaxation. I arrived first and was made very welcome by Deborah who made me a tray of tea in the lounge. Gwyn was so helpful - nothing was too much trouble! He chilled our 'fizz' and wine and put out glasses so that when we arrived back from having eaten at a local pub everything was ready for us to put our feet up, relax and catch up. He even cleared up after us! The B and B is in a lovely location - we wanted to visit Portmeirion and Gwyn suggested a short tour before arriving to have lunch at the castle and then spending the afternoon in the village. The room was spotless, large and beautifully decorated - good quality furnishings and we loved the wall paper! The bathroom was small but more than adequate for our short stay. Breakfast - ordered the evening before - was good; lots of choice, cooked and presented well and again nothing was too much trouble. Gwyn and Deborah were able to recommend places to eat and visit. Fantastic hosts..... thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very affable hosts. Gwyn and Deborah were helpful and made us very comfortable.
They had to contend with 6 golfers taking over the guest house. They made us welcome and even helped dry out soaked clubs/shoes and clothing.
The rooms were big and comfortable.
The surrounding area is outstanding and the views from the guesthouse was fabulous.
Many thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful weekend spent in North Wales, where we stayed at Gwrach Ynys guest house. On arrival, we were given a warm welcome from Gwynfor along with a pot of tea and coffee followed by his amazing local knowledge and advice on places to visit/restaurants etc. Our room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The en-suite shower room was great (powerful hot shower). Breakfast was superb, we had a choice of cereal, full cooked breakfast, continental, kippers (which were meaty and delicious!!)

We want to thank Deborah and Gwynfor for their hospitality and for convincing us to walk up Mount Snowdon... which was the highlight of our trip!!

Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer here. We will certainly return! 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Clean, recently renovated room. Interiors are a bit tacky, but in excellent condition. Family room is very large. Breakfast is good, but not gourmet. Feels like more like a three star than a four star guest house. Owners are friendly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This B&B was excellent. Very friendly and helpful in advising us the best places to go. Very clean room and everywhere else we saw in the house, and breakfast was 1st class. I would definelty recommend this place to friends and family and we would most definelty use it again. 10/10

Many thanks Gwynfor and Deborah we really enjoyed our stay.
Rosemarie and Paul
(Cardigan)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talsarnau hotels
1.8 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#2 of 6 in Talsarnau
291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Awel Y Mynydd
Awel Y Mynydd
#5 of 6 in Talsarnau
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
The Old Tannery B&B
The Old Tannery B&B
#6 of 6 in Talsarnau
6 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwrach Ynys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwrach Ynys

Address: Talsarnau, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range: $117 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gwrach Ynys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwrach Ynys Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing