We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic holiday at a great price.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic holiday at a great price.”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed mon - fri the second week in easter and had a great time. we booked the week before and got a real bargain, we were allocated a standard plus appartment and after reading some reviews after we booked we were a lilltle apprehensive. We didnt need to be the appartment was clean and big enough for us all ( although you may find it a bit of a squeeze for more than 4 people ) the carpets and sofa seemed new, the heating was a real plus for us as it was a bit cold. and the location of the appartments is really good for getting to the facilities around the park.
The only negative we found was that we were not aware untill we got there that you can not take your car to the appartments to unload and have to carry all your things from the carpark nearby. This was not a major problem but had we known we would have packed in cases with wheels to make it easier instead if in heavy bags which we had to carry.
I would recomend going for a meal at the Mash and Barrel it was fantastic. Our waitress Kate was great. she couldnt do enough for us and was really friendly.
All in all we had a great time and would love to go back.
Dont be put off or worried as i was about negative reviews i honestly dont know what they expect ( these people want to pay very little and get 5 star )you will love it.

Room Tip: Take cases with wheels to make it easier if you stay in the appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    651
    300
    119
    144
See reviews for
1,437
204
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Recently visited Havens Hafan Y Mor nr Pwlhelli although I have visited this site twice since Bourne Leisure changed it from the Old Butlins Star Coast World I can say it is almost unrecognisable - some for the better some for the worse.

The site was clean and tidy - we were booked into a 3 bedroomed chalet - This was a lovely wooden cabin with a seaview not really accessible but nice - bedrooms small, however this was a privately owned unit and rented through Haven, The owner without telling Haven had changed the patio door locks and hadn't left the key so unit wasn't able to be locked - Haven tried their best to sort this out and after two hours with the owner not happy to have locks drilled and replaced we were moved to a larger A frame lodge - 2 floor, the staff helped move us and re-arrange lodge to enable me to have a single room downstairs, they provided a meal as compensation.

New menu cheaper than last year and more variety of choice. Entertainment complex x 2 very nice clean and well maintained, entertainment included Shane Ritchie Jnr, Kevin Cruise off Britains Got Talent and various others infact 3 hours of live entertainment between venues with more provided by Fun Stars. Only problem hard finding what is on where in advance.

Plenty of variety in the 3 spar shops not over priced - normal corner shop prices not supermarket - activities good. Petrol go-karting £5 for 5 mins better value if you buy activity pass or are an owner, mini golf, push karts, bike hire, - didn't see much off Quazer or bowling but they have a gym and a good fun pool.

Burger King gets busy but not to bad price wise nearly high street prices, fish and chips - hot and freshly cooked, starbucks - pricey but they normally are. Breakfasts good value in main restaurant.

It was so good we extended - Price better direct from Haven than onsite, had one of 8 disabled caravan - they have various if you require a double bed ask for a ABI Prestige, if you don't mind 2 twin rooms then the Pemberton Sovereign or Rio Gold are good accessible units. You do need to think where you are going as parking isn't always that close to where you are going.

When it was Butlins there was a cinema, fun fair, cable cars to beach, mini railway etc these are some of the items I miss. At least the old dinning rooms and most of the old 2 storey chalets have disappeared.

The railway station Penychain no longer has the gates open by the station which is no more than a simple halt now, request only much changed to the hay days of Billy Butlins.

There is a very good restaurant down the road in Cricceth called the Castle. Well recommended see my seperate review.

Disabled access 8/10, Cleanliness 9/10, Staff Friendliness 8/10, Entertainment 7/10,

In fact out of the 3 units we had I cannot find fault with the cleaning - So well done to the cleaners. You will now that I tell it how it is if you look at my other reviews.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caravanmysteryvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

just got back from a first visit and must say we all loved it!!...we rang them after looking online(and got £££s knocked off )...booked mon-fr (bank holiday £147)but liked it that much we booked n stayed longer.(£116 for fri-mon)which was a push as they were full but they did their utmost best to accomadate us
great base to visit surrounding areas (which are gorgeous and very scenic)and loads to do onsite.
went in a 6 bed standard plus apartment wasnt expecting it to b that good but was very clean,comfy and did job great as had everything..including beds made up on arrival etc..

my children n nephew(2x13yrs,11yr old and 4yr old)had loads to do on camp especially the massive swimming pool and a wide variety of kids activities and the beach was great.
3 well stocked spar shops onsite(asda,freezer shops etc 3 miles away in pwllheli,and theres aldi etc in porthmadog, so saves boot space if you take your own food when you travel;)something we would have liked to have known before going lol)

my son lost his wallet n wasnt sure if he,d packed it or not we got back yesterday and his wallet arrived in post today before we,d even unpacked properly(even though there was no address in it)....we will definatley be visiting again

Room Tip: ask for a ogwen(ask most have sea views)if your booking a standard plus apartment common supermarke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Been going here for the last 7 years on and off and I have to say it has changed so much for the better. They have invested so much in the park and it really shows-it's clean-lots of people out litter picking, well landscaped and everything runs to a T. Went just after Easter so early season and the staff are as enthusiastic as I have ever seen. Pool wondeful-lots of fund to be had. My only complaint is that the half board is no longer on offer-BIG mistake Haven are you listening? No-where to eat now except one cafe bar which turns out very pricey. Sure there is a Burger King and chippy on site but the Half Board was great for kids.

Room Tip: If you like caravans fine, if not, the appartments are a good alternative but chose one on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very very busy during half term - all the Hafan y Mor accomodation was full. The good news is the park is large enough to absorb a lot of people. The bad news is that all the extra activities were booked up immediately and we hadn't been told you have to get in there quick, which would have been helpful. our accomodation, a prestige caravan, was very warm and comfortable. It was right next door to the apartments and there was some noise in the evening - we heard anecdotal complaints about the apartments being very noisy so we were glad to be self contained. I think next time we would book early and ask for accomodation away from this area. The park was very large, clean and generally well appointed - although there were insufficient high chairs in the board walk area.
Fast food was relatively cheap but the shops I thought hideously expensive (£1.10 for a tin of tomatoes and nearly £4 for a pack of lurpak). Shop at ASDA 3 miles away or order an ASDA delivery.
Great for children of all ages including the pool. Only downside at pool is lack of showers during busy periods.

Room Tip: Choose a prestige caravan away from apartments (loud noisy groups!) Book a food delivery Book earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

me and my family used to go every year on our holidays, so we could have a break from the washing up, but for all of a sudden they dicided to stop doing half board. and we are really sad about not being able to go halfboard. but very nice site pool amazing, shops very good. but due to not haveing half board we anit going again :( x

Room Tip: good site! x ~:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Had a week in one of the Platinum caravans, and the caravan itself was well laid out, and very clean. We were in the Mountain View section, and we did indeed have a great view of the mountains. TV, DVD player etc. was great, but bedding is not great standard, and the pots and pans and cutlery could have been better. So if you're a keen cook, bring your own good sharp knife and a good non-stick frying pan.

The staff here were generally very friendly and helpful, and the facilities on site are good. Note that for most of the kid's activities, you still need to be present.
There is a very good fish and chip shop which had erratic opening hours that no one at the park seemed to know. There's a burger king, a Starbucks and a Pappa John's Pizza place. We ordered pizza the first night, but the order arrived half an hour late, was cold and incomplete - not a great start. There's also a Barrell and Mash kind of pub grub place to eat - but the service was very hit and miss and the food was pretty greasy and bad.
The pool facilities were great but we couldn't stay long as it was cold - there were signs up apologising for this fact - but nonetheless a cold swimming pool all week.

The site is huge and the Platinum Caravans are in a great location - the apartments are a bit depressing looking - they look like original Butlins accommodation from the 60s.

The kids however, loved the place - the playground, swimming pools, nice beach walks, crazy golf, ice-cream etc. Our kids are 6,4 and 2 - I think the place would be better enjoyed though by older kids. I would say that if you had great weather this would be a great place to stay, I think if I was having this kind of holiday again, I'd go to France or Spain to ensure the good weather!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
4.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Basecamp Wales
Basecamp Wales
#1 of 1 in Llanllyfni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Pwllheli LL53 6HJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Pwllheli
Also Known As:
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park Hotel Pwllheli
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing