We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bueno!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcove Cafe and Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Alcove Cafe and Tapas Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northern England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bueno!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed a really good evening with friends yesterday at the Alcove Tapas Bar. The proprietor and staff were very welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed a range of well cooked and presented tapas - particularly enjoyed the slow cooked lamb and the scallops.

The Alcove is (as the name suggests) a bijou and quirky hideaway with a very relaxed atmosphere, ideal for eating and drinking with friends. This was our second visit and we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silkman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abersoch
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Innovative idea for Pwllheli which works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dined here last Wednesday

Very nice staff eager to please

This used to be a coffee bar ..it was so so...the tapas idea works at every level...the menu ( which is changed regularly ) is very nicely presented & tasty

Of particular note is the use of high quality ingredients ...well cooked and served hot.

A well balanced wine selection and good ambience made this a very pleasant evening

We will come back for sure

Chris

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bwlchtocynman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Saw this restaurant on TripAdvisor and thought we would give it a try, so glad we did! You must book, it's tiny but the host and the food were brilliant. Really well worth a visit, We are back in the area again soon and we are definitely going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SolihullChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brian1939”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This venue has changed from original coffee bar to Tapas Bar in the last year, the interior has not been messed about with so look & feels like a Spanish Tapas bar, please keep it that way add's to the atmosphere, like the way you can still take your own wine & just pay corkage even though they now have a licence, this was our 2nd visit & the food was very good & not to expensive looking forward to our next visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianLeslieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best tapas in a long while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful tapas, just delicious and beautifully presented. Excellent service from all the staff and Luke the owner as we were made to feel very welcome. It's very small and cosy intimate sort of interior(evening visit) with candles and dim lights.
The 'house' wine was superb and was a very decent bottle of Chilean wine at only £11 a bottle...unheard of these days.
Already booked to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingbird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcove Cafe and Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing