We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ummmmm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bar and Restaurant

The Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Pwllheli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the heart of Pwllheli. The Bar is a great place to eat, drink and relax. Family friendly and with a menu to suit everyone, we also have a large Beer-garden, free Wi-Fi and are well-behaved Husband and Dog friendly. We pride ourselves on using as many locally sourced ingredients as possible, even down to the potatoes in our famous Home-made Chips! We look forward to welcoming you, whether it is for a full meal, snack, or a drink in our partially covered heated/welsh summer-proofed beergarden.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ummmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

where do i start
tucked away ,little gem,
BUT food was ok visited the carvery was nice for the money, small little dishes with foil over them ,tasty, tho staff was nice but the arguments coming from kitchen dident sound too good to customers after we found out this was the boss shouting at the staff(this is normal in the barn we was told by staff ) anyway great for topping up the belly ....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    32
    11
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had spanking fresh mackerel salad, and the effort has been made to make homemade chips,this makes such a difference. very good value for money,friendly service with a smile.Dessert menu a let down but would satisfy a less fussy customer! A delightful experience. I will be returning, hope your consistant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This little place is lovely, the staff and service where excellent, the food freshly made, hot and tasty. Only issues are the toilets need a bit of decoration and the regimented cafe style layout didn't give a great ambience. For the disabled access to outside in the summer is great but access inside is a little difficult, two steps up to main restaurant floor. The toilets, although in need of decoration are of a good size especially if you were In a wheelchair and were very clean.

Overall a simple establishment with good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a lovely Sunday Lunch Carvery. Brilliant with a family. Well worth a visit. Highly recomend. Diolch for the warm welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LowriLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lots of choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited bank holiday weekend was hard to find as set back. Read reviews so had high expectations. Has seating inside and out. Have carvery and a large menu but feel they offer alot for their size. Carvery was laid out by doors and not covered and we could see flies landing on food which put us off and there was good choice too. Had lasagne which was good sized portion and looked lovely. Was piping hot but was very dry when started to eat. Nice homemade chips but I was expecting better. Staff are lovely and is very child friendly. Bit slow in getting bill. Not sure if i would visit again if in area but did appear to be a popular place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynniemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Pwllheli, Gwynedd
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing