We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$114
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$194
$161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel(Porthmadog)(Great Value!)
$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
$113
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
31
42
16
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
42
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast cooked to ordercentral locationsky sportsasda storethe pubtop floorcomfortable roomfirst floorshort breakgood sizeyogurttea and coffeebreakfast was excellenttwo nightswhitehallalekey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 95 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good hotel in a great location and an amazing breakfast awaits you in the morning, you can survive all day on it!!. Good size clean bedroom & bathroom. Friendly & helpful staff, would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inghamjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Here for two nights to attend a wedding. Met by a very cheery lady and there was no delay in showing us our rooms. I had a single room on the first floor ( please note - no lifts - not mentioned on the website as far as I can see). The room was small but quite well equipped and clean with TV and tea making facility. However, I would have appreciated a small chair or at least a hook of some kind in the bathroom, which was disproportionately big. Interesting use had been made of the space available in a old building, adding to the character, and the room had obviously been refurished recently.
We had called ahead during our 8 hour +/- journey, to book a table for a meal on our arrival, and there was quite a delay in answering the telephone. In fact we made two calls the first being unanswered. The food was excellent.
There was no designated reception- the "bar" area in what was also the breakfast room doubled as reception. I got the impression that the rooms are not the main source of income for this hotel. There is considerable bar facility and there is live entertainment on Saturday night, which we missed having returned from the wedding after 01.00, but I overheard other guests complaining about the noise. This was mentioned in another review and Room 4 seems to be the main source of this problem.
Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cooked items and a selection of fruit, cereal etc.
The staff were all very pleasant, but seemed to be a bit thin on the ground.
I would use this hotel again, although I have had similar or even better facilities for less cost, but it suited our requirements on this occasion.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 apparently!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ednabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Boked just before travelling 6 hours to attend a wedding.
Arrived later than expected,anddespite first impression in the pouring rain in a narrow street, couldn't have asked for a warmer reception.Very smooth check in and shown straight to my very clean, functional room. All facilities explained, given a key for late returning guests,and out to explore the area.
Great night sleep, loads of hot water, free wireless and parking outside the door. great breakfast and off now to the wedding!
Would reccomend. Great value.

Room Tip: Room 5 single en suite does what it says on the tin.No hesitation in coming again.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is an interesting older property in the centre of Pwllheli, the hotel has character and some quirky aspects - the bar and its 70s style disco lights on a Saturday night! The rooms are spotlessly clean, I believe they have been renovated recently and as a result have flat screen tvs and are nice and bright but are more is sync with an 80' s hotel. The staff are very friendly, were happy to accommodate any of our requirements and the food is excellent. On first viewing the menu looks quite basic but when all of the specials and all the extras are included the menu is quite extensive. If it Pwllheli this hotel is worth checking out for good old fashioned character and hospitality.

Room Tip: If staying over a weekend request a top floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culruaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed there one night last Saturday.First impressions were not good.I parked the at the rear of the premises (through the ASDA car park).It looked run down and not welcoming at all.You then climb up some steep stairs and walk through the bar (which at the time was quite full of people who had clearly been there for some time).At this point I was almost tempted to turn around and try and find somewhere else.But I persevered and landed in the "Hotel" side of the place which was totally different.It looked clean and tidy and we were immediately met by the staff who were pleasant and welcoming.
The rooms were fairly standard.Clean and functional.The bed was very comfortable.The bathroom (no bath) again was clean and functional.
We had breakfast (the usual fare of fruit,cereal,toast,full breakfast) which was good and cooked to order.
Downside was that there was a karaeoke evening on.We arrived back at the Hotel at about 11.15pm and the karaeoke was in full flow.That said therer were only about 5 people in the bar and one persistent singer (that term is used very loosley) who was shouting into the mike.The room was immediately above the bar on the first floor and it was like being in the middle of the Karaoke session in there.Thankfully it finished at 12.00am.We were overlooking the main street and there was a certain amount of street/traffic noise but nothing you couldn't cope with.
Our friends had a room on the second floor at the back and they had an undisturbed night's sleep.
So the moral of this tale is that if you are going to stay in the Crown (in particular on a weekend) make sure you stay on the second floor preferably at the rear.
The cost was £64 b&b for a double room which wasn't too bad.
There isn't a lot of choice in Pwllheli for accommodation.I suspect that this is on the lower end.But the room and breakfast was ok.Once you got past the inital "oh my god" reaction when you park at the rear (not a problem if you can find somewhere to park outside ther Hotel-there is limited parking) the rooms and service are not too bad for the price.Just avoid the Karaoke nights!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wynaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews