We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time for family get togethers good for kids as well”
Review of Afonwen Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afonwen Farm
cleveleys
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great time for family get togethers good for kids as well”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Couldn't fault it ,,,nearest pub out the farm turn left come to a rounder bout turn right ,, they sell Sunday carvery as well ,, say one mile away .. nearest village two miles away, out the farm turn right , two miles ,,, We got a Tesco order delivered , up the door ,,,,,, got a swimming pool ping pong , billiards darts ,,, and a gym upstairs , a room with chairs and tables ,, as the only place you can get Wii fie.... Got a tennis court , ask at the farmhouse for bats ,,you wont be disappointed , And the couple are friendly, well done ,

Room Tip: take a torch at night grounds a bit dark ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartcleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from Afonwen Farm and we had a thoroughly good time. We went as a family and rented Lloft Stabl, Deri Cottage, Eifionydd and Enlli, we stayed in Enlli. The accomadation was great, lovely pool and the kids facilities were definitely in a well used condition but were perfectly acceptable. Some of the toys could be improved with a visit to the car boot! We saw the owner almost everyday and had no cause for complaint. Its a great base for a holiday in a beatiful part of the world. The only downside for me was I couldn't get WiFi in the cottage and had to go across to a room above the pool especially designated for WiFi use. As for previous comments regarding the beds and not being able to sleep, I had some of the best sleep for a long time. With regards to electric we used about 10 quid in a week and we were cooking every day, watching TV and using the washer dryer. Any holiday is what you make it and we had a great time at this lovely, well priced facility. A+

Room Tip: For a family with young kids then stay in Deri Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eesjxw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just come back from a week in Gwylan Cottage with three children, aged 5, 8 and 12 and two dogs. Had a great holiday. The view from the back of the cottage out to the sea is stunning. The cottage is functional and comfortable with everything we needed for our week, including a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, iron, microwave, tv/DVD and toaster. The children's bedroom is upstairs and ours loved it. The stairs are steep and open plan so with younger children you may want a stair gate (though the owners may put one in if you are coming with younger children, I wouldn't know). As others have mentioned, you need pound coins for the meter. We arrived on Sat and didn't put a coin in til Tues and from then spent a pound a day. We had lovely weather so didn't need heating but used the washing machine, cooker and dishwasher every day and are not exactly economical in our electricity use! However, I had also taken dressing gowns and sleeping bags just in case it was cold in the mornings. It is fairly open plan so light sleepers might suffer.
This is a working farm and you need to walk through a field of friendly and nosy cows to get to the beach, which is dog friendly. The kids loved the pool, which is warm and shallow and they were in and out a few times a day. The gym looked good though I didn't get around to using. There is a games room with a couple of snooker tables and a couple of ping pong tables. We also used the tennis court, which you borrow tennis raquets and balls from the porch of the farm house. Although I can understand some previous comments about the play equipment being old or broken, I don't think that is such a big deal unless the play equipment was your main reason for visiting. To us it was just an extra, and the kids enjoyed running round in the playing field anyway. We were there for the location and farm experience and everything else was a bonus. All of the facilities are just outside your door.
We loved the horse riding (went several times) and the craft shop and there is so much to do in the area. The children loved the Rabbit Farm, Criccieth Castle (the Castle fish and chip shop is lovely but be prepared for a long queue) and Black Rock Sands is well worth a visit. Miles of sand and you can drive right on to the Bach (£4 parking). Port Meirion is lovely too (half price after 3.30 if you just want want a look). There is a ton of tourist info in the cottage and in the farmhouse and from the owners if you ask them!
The owners are very laid back and don't come looking for you but are very friendly and helpful and there when needed. They strike me as people who are not trying to rip anyone off but are providing the facilities for a good value break. They have four children themselves so obviously have some understanding! Arthur very kindly lent us his kayaks one day so we could have a go on the lake with them. Wish we'd taken fishing rods as we could have fished too.
I am used to caravan holidays. This week was half the price of Hafan Y Mor booking direct and I feel we had far more for our money. I would definitely go back. Have fallen in love with the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JcMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just got back from a week away we stayed at penllyn cottages ( sleeps 8 ) ok the cottage could do with a little updating extra kitchen equipment new mattress. However the facilities on the farm were fab horse riding games room and a lovely craft room where the children could paint pottery. also the pool was the highlight for the children . The owners were very friendly and helpful. I don't know what people expect as this cottage was very reasonable for the price of our one week stay. Would recommend phoenix Chinese in phwelli . Also places to visit the snowdon railway and the labyrinth underground boat. Would def go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozcarney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed for a week in this ptoperty. I booked through sykes cottages..
I was expecting it to have smazing amenities and to be like the pictures advertised.
The cottage was ok. Very much thrown together but fine. The beds were so bad we hardly slept.
The play area is the farmhouse garden with broken dirty dangerous toys with cknstant washing lines up complete with underwear!
The smaller toys were dangerous and broken. Bikes with no seat etc etc.
The jndoor games room.... badly broked table tennis tables.. old damaged bats. No net on one table.
Snooker tables with pockets held on with ribbons and shoe laces...
Swimming pool lining ripped and gloating about your feet when in pool. Dirt in botyom of pool. VERY DANGEROUS LADDER THAT COMES OUT WHEN CLIMBING ON IT.
Hot tub that is yes hot but.. switch to turn on bubnle screwed down and mouldy wood round pool..
I could go on but my hand hurts..
My boys had fun as the other families were lovely.. we were never introduced to the owners but was told it was normal. We are used to caravaning so thought this would be a treat.... a caravan in a frild would have been just as much fun for my boys.
VERY OVERPRICED. when made complaint to letting agent they were not helpfull in the end and took no interest.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 348telegraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pwllheli hotels

Nantich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent horse riding facilities for first time riders & experience riders. Excellent and friendly staff, lovely coastal riding paths and beach rides. Horses all very well cared for, there are also 2/3/4 bedroom cottages with garden & patio areas, ensuite bathrooms, bed linen provided. Defiantly be back again next month xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we stayed in Dwyfor and had a fabulous time thank you to Mr and Mrs Parry. we;ve been there twice now and just about to book to go back again. we love it, the cottages are basic but the area is lovely and there is everything you need,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pwllheli hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 10 in Pwllheli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 10 in Pwllheli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhosfawr Camp and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonwen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonwen Farm

Property: Afonwen Farm
Address: Pwllheli LL53 6TX , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Pwllheli
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Afonwen Farm Hotel Pwllheli
Afonwen Farm Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing