We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing time in surreal village where quirkiness is the norm.”

Portmeirion Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private village resort and gardens on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales open all year round from 10am to 7pm for day visits with reduced entry after 3.30pm. The village has two hotels, 15 self-catering cottages, six restaurants and cafes, six shops, a spa, an information centre, an audio visual presentation and a resident artist's gallery. Free welcome tours available from the information centre near the entrance. Closed to the public for the duration of Festival No 6 (first weekend in September)and on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing time in surreal village where quirkiness is the norm.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The sun came out as we arrived and the village lit up with wonderful colour in response. The village history is fascinating, the views are stunning and there was a wedding on when we were there so the atmosphere was bright & light and joyful. Took the 'train' ride through the forest and was surprised by the variety of plantlife. This place is surprising for many reasons, not least because it feels like alton towers without the roller coasters and a little bit of Italy at the same time. Quirky? Absolutely. Great fun on a sunny day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,474
    660
    281
    135
    99
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Oozes Charm”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very quaint charming village on an idyllic setting. Entry fee is a bit steep for what is there however had a pleasant time in the unique village, rambling woodlands (where we got lost regardless of following signs) and splendid beach. Very refreshing to visit somewhere truly unspoilt.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Fabulous Week-end”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came here for the wedding of a family friend and what a fabullous week-end it was, the wedding was perfect from start to finish. The weather was brilliant all week- end, the surroundings were idyllic very pretty buildings and amazing views over the estuary. The wedding breakfast took place in the hotel and the food and the staff was wonderful. We had a good look round on the Sunday after breakfast, along the coastal path and round the village itself looking in the little shops (some a little pricey) and relaxing by the hotel. A perfect week-end.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Other Worldly..”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first visit to Portmeirion and i found the whole experience fascinating! When you walk through the gate house it feels like you've been transported to a quaint Mediterranean village, especially when the sun is shining and it is warm, like it was when we visited. Though there isn't that much to do when you get there apart from look at the architecture, do some of the planned walks and visit a few shops/cafes we still enjoyed ourselves. The village has a lovely feel to it and we managed to get a 2for1 admission with a card from April's issue of Gardener's world. We had a lovely walk into the woods and then down to the beach and had lunch in a cafe. There is even a little train ride you can get round the grounds for free. We did get a guidebook but in all honesty it is poorly written and doesn't really flow, therefore the information in it appears random at times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to visit in the area even if you haven't seen The Prisoner. Very pretty, lots to explore, a complete one-off. We go on an annual pilgrimage and love it more every year. Shops to visit, a couple of tearooms, restaurant, ice-cream and a souvenir shop. The estuary is magical, you can climb up the cliff edge if you want to (we haven't done it yet). Go after 3.30pm and get your tickets half price at £5 each, then it's not a rip off as some say. it's open until 7.30pm so you still get really good value for money. Toilets at the entrance. Note the tea rooms shut at 5.00pm though, but would be lovely for a picnic if you plan ahead. Also free and generous parking, and easy to find. We went this year and a wedding reception was being held - it was a little intrusive, both ways, but you can go explore other areas while they're having pics taken on the main grass area. Definitely a must-go though - do it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portmeirion Village also viewed

 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Portmeirion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing