We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2010

My birthday is in December and my husband's in January. During the summer we spend our holidays walking in the Porthmadog area and it has become a tradition now to drive up to Castell in both December and January to celebrate our birthdays. (On a walking holiday we tend to not eat out at restaurants). This year we had to postpone our trip because Castell was closed for a few weeks, but we had dinner there this weekend. As always, the welcome was warm, as was the log fire! The staff are attentive without being overbearing and nothing is too much trouble for them. I had the black pudding fritters with apple chutney, my partner the arbroath smokies baked with tomato and cream. Both were superb. For main course, my partner had the rib eye steak with hand cut chips - welsh beef of course, perfectly cooked and as tender as butter. I had the sea bass on a bed of lentils with smoked bacon - 3 large fillets - a lovely dish. Although we were full, we were tempted by the desserts, and that was a mistake for us. The portions were far too big. My partner had pineapple crumble with ice cream - it looked and tasted spectacular, with a spun sugar decoration. I chose the pannacotta, thinking this would be a lighter alternative. In fact, this was the first time I've had less than perfect food at Castell. The pannacotta was large and heavy. It would have been fine with a fruit coulis or perhaps more of the tangerine jelly garnish, but in fact it sat on a piece of gingerbread, which made it very stodgy. Added to that was a pair of shortbread biscuits sandwiched together with cream and mango puree. As two separate desserts, it would have worked, but for me, the two together was far too much. Having said that, there was nothing else to criticise and it remains our favourite restaurant for special occasions, despite the 4 hour drive we have to make to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1204maggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 436 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

Recently stayed at Castell Deudraeth when the weather outside was cold and icy but the welcome was a warm one as was the temperature indoors! Our suite was ideal for lounging around and the food in the restaurant was very good. Overall a most relaxing place to stay for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the castle for 2 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday.(This was our 3rd visit). Unfortunately, after I had booked I found out that the main hotel in Portmeirion village was going to be closed at the time of our stay, so we weren't going to be able to have dinner there on one of the nights as we had planned.
We stayed in the Penthouse Suite as a treat, which is a lovely big room with a sitting area and balcony with full length of the room glass doors.Unfortunately, the view from the balcony is very limited as there is a high wall around it. Also,I expected the bathroom to be bigger, as we have previously stayed in an ordinary double room which has a bathroom twice the size.
At night time we went and had a drink in the bar before dinner, but we felt rushed as we were called to our table in the restaurant well before the time we had booked for. Our dinners in the restaurant were lovely,but the desserts let it down- choices were limited and not very appealing.The staff and service were very good.
Breakfast in the morning was nice, but we were'nt able to sit in the main part of the restaurant with the garden views, we were put in the side part and we sat very close to the next table, which was a bit chlostraphobic.
We had a nice time,and maybe we will return one day, and we can try the restaurant in the main hotel,as we originally intended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99rubyslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Absolutely amazing hotel. Staff are fantastic and willing to go above and beyond for you. Complimentary transport from the station to the hotel and then from the hotel to Port Meiron itself if you can't be bothered to walk the short distance or if it is raining.
Huge & beautiful rooms, larger than some flats, equipped with everything you could possibly need. Whirlpool baths, fires, stunning architecture and carving everywhere.
The hotel itself is gorgeous and set in such a wonderful location
Free entry to Port Meiron is included (even after check out) making this even more superb value.
I was shocked when I saw some of the reviews here, but it seems that many of the reviews on this site seem to be reviewing the restaurant rather than the hotel - ignore them, Castell Deudraeth will be one of the best places you will ever stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjgexplode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

An absolutely superb location for our twenty seventh wedding anniversary. We encountered very friendly welcoming staff throughout Portmeirion and its two hotels. We stayed in a suite at the Castell, which was faultless and far beyond our expectations. Fortunately, we were able to sample the food at both Castell Deudraeth and the Hotel Portmeirion; both were out of this world.

Portmeirion, its hotels and its staff are a gem!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked this for our silver anniversary & it was superb. The room was huge (Castle No. 2) with king bed, dressing area, lounge area with 2 sofas & very large bathroom.

We ate in the Castle the first evening & the hotel the 2nd - both were very good but the hotel just edged it.
The staff were very good & attentive with the service excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
The Sat we spent just walking the grounds until the rain came then took the complimentary mini bus back to the Castle.That evening was pouring down so again took the mini bus to the hotel restaurant - this is an excellent added benefit.
Yes - very expensive - but yes - worth it for a special occasion such as we had.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesCardiffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Booked as a last minute treat! We dined at the Portmerion Hotel which was superb, very professional and local staff. The Castle itself did a brilliant breakfast, our room (C5) was delighful with nice touches (ie Sherry!) and plenty of space, will be back to explore the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubeyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
17.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: $144 - $1,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing