We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find...lovely”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
lathom, lancs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find...lovely”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I arrived last week to stay for one night with our 2 children aged 9 yrs and 13 yrs. We were greeted at reception by a lovely chap who went out of his way to find us accomodation elsewhere for the following night as the Castell was booked. We stayed in Rms 5 and 6 and they were gorgeous with a hidden kitchen and lovely jacuzzi bath. WE dedided to dine in the restaurant of the Castell rather than the Hotel as a wedding reception was on and we were made to feel a little in the way!.. The food was lovely and staff attentive.
Breakfast was lovely too and overall it was a lovely break. Lovely staff too...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyblack57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    66
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
72
255
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

The location is wonderful but once lunchtime arrived my weekend started to loose its shine. The sandwiches we ordered can only be described as ugly, three slices of bread piled on top of each other, just cut in half so flopping about in your hand,with a very meagre filling of smoked salmon for £6.50. A very poor show.My partner ordered the beef and horseradish,but alas no horseradish to be seen when it arrived. The accompanying chips were floppy and greasy and rather squashed when they arrived.
The evening meal was a disaster, cold food,undercooked meat, slow service.Not what you would expect for your money, far from it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llyngwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llangollen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

A group of 10 of us stayed there for a birthday celebration. The rooms are large, well equiped with great beds, bed-linen, lovely spacious bathrooms and a small kitchenette which is very useful. Dinner was good, but the service was quite random and not very attentive. at one point we had a mexican stand off with the waitress when the wrong meal was brought out. The setting is rather beautiful and the hotle rooms, both public and private are just great. Shame the staff didn't have just a tad more grace and attention to detail.
Sunday night deals of dinner bed and breakfast are great value for money though

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthLlangollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We only booked the week before on a special rate and had the only remaining room, Castle 7, for 2 nights. Dinner was included in our rate so we ate in the Castle the first night and the Hotel the second, both meals were amazing, not huge but enough. Our room was as described and being the last room to be booked did not have the fantastic views some of the others did, however we did have a seperate lounge area, a small kitchenette and a whirlpool bath. Portmeirion is a very special place particularly in the evening when all the visitors have gone. We loved the atmosphere in the Castle and could not fault the service, the staff were very attentive but not intrusively so. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallynorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Two of us stayed here for four nights. We enjoyed our standard our suite was excellent, if plainly furnished.

The dining area looked rather too much like an up-market canteen. In spite of that we did talk to people neighbouring tables most nights; though not the first when an 18th birthday party in the adjoining part of the dining area made far too much noise. The food was good and the portion s large, but the menu is priced by the meal rather than the dish which is not helpful if you are not very hungry. Some things on the menu were not actually available: on our first night, that included the crab and the pinot griglio, (I that wine was still not available four days later) and there was no plain yoghurt on our first morning, though plenty of fruit yoghurts.

The staff were always very helpful and friendly. Getting to and from Portmeirion village and hotel was a pleasant walk; if that seemed too much, the two hotels, or any of the shops, would summon transport when asked and it usually arrived, with a cheerful driver, within a few minutes.

We chose the Castell rather than the hotel for two reasons: first, it has a lift, and second, the hotel is often taken up by other functions. We assumed that would mostly be at weekends, but it also applied to the Wednesday night that we planned to dine there. If the weather is fine, a drink on the hotel’s terrace overlooking the water is very enjoyable.

  • Liked — our room
  • Disliked — Noise from a dining area on one night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwckshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Castell (Castell 8) which is a nice big room. Not as luxurious as we had hoped but nice & spacious and good quality. Hotel facilities are limited so the price seems disproportionate - we guessed we were paying premium prices for staying at a castle.
Staff were nice and evening dinners efficient but service at breakfast was very poor. One American lady complained like hell on the first morning we were there, we felt she was rude, but by the second morning, we felt her complaints were justified.

  • Liked — ambience, quality, food
  • Disliked — breakfast service, lack of facilities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spg482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This Hotel was booked by my parents for my fathers 70th Birthday - it is simply wonderful! Great rooms, great service, and a superb setting - we'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. I'd also recommend the full English breakfast in the morning - it's one of the best I've ever had! The rooms in this hotel are absolutely wonderful - we'd love to live here!

  • Liked — The rooms are amazing!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LincolnGreenBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
680 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
17.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Property: Castell Deudraeth
Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing