We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

have just returned to morfa bcyahn 4 milkes away but had a relaxing time. food was excellent and frank and his staff in the castelle were so welcoming. reception staff were so helpful. breakfast we took in the hotel.in all another very good value for money chill time. we had room 10 which did only have a tiny hairdryer and very small mirror as in the mirror station in the bathroom should be tranfered into the wardarobe. beds very good and towels. thank you. shall return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasfrynPorthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    65
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
71
250
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bodiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just home from a fantastic 3 night stay, on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis. Lovely spacious well appointed room (castle 4), great food, Was happy to find that we could dine in either the Castle or down at the Hotel in the Viliage if we wanted. Good staff - faultless! - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow Cheshire England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great time here, a two night stay in October 2012. Huge room (castle 2), with a small kitchenette, furnishings are modern. Only slight criticism was the shower, could have done with a new shower head.
The staff are lovely and the restaurant looks out onto the gardens and estuary in the far distance. The bar and sitting areas are very comfortable, the open fire makes a great place to sit in the afternoon or evening.
Our stay included an amount off an evening meal and was great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_&_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enjoyed a short break at Castell Deudraeth and stayed in room four. Very comfortable with everything to make our stay pleasant. Staff, friendly and attentive - Robert showed us to our room and was so helpful, thank you! Even though we have stayed in the village many times over the last thirty years,we found Castell Deudraeth to have a lovely relaxed ambiance. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room four, Castle Grand Room did not have a whirlpool bath. Lovely room with pleasant views situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlinroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We decided to run away and get married, and Portmeirion seemed like the perfect place for us, so we booked to get married in the hotel and stay in a suite in the castle. We stayed in Castell 9, which is a lovely suite on the second floor, dual-aspect with views of the mountains and the estuary. The spacious lounge is comfortable, with a small kitchenette hidden away and a gas coal-effect fire. The bedroom was spacious too and the wet room in the turret is great, with a bath perfect for two. The under-floor heating throughout works a treat and we had a lovely stay despite the incessant rain at the beginning of week. The daily top-up of sherry was very welcome.

Breakfast in the castle restaurant was as impressive as the evening meals, with the hot food freshly cooked to order. Generous portions too. We loved the sausages and the fish, my husband loved the kippers and I really enjoyed the haddock and poached egg. We also had room service breakfast the morning after our wedding, which was a lovely treat, everything we ordered was delivered on time and piping hot, perfect.

We ate in the castle restaurant on a few evenings, with it getting busier as the week progressed (we arrived on a Sunday and stayed till Saturday). We were impressed with the menus, the choice was good and the food lovely. We sampled a couple of cocktails and lots of Prosecco!

The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, and the minibus down to the village and back is a great service, we even used it to take us to the hotel for our intimate wedding ceremony in the Mirror Room.

We had a wonderful time in Portmeirion, and we will definitely be back. Be seeing you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a long wait for our daughter to be old enough to leave with her grandparents I arranged a reservation for mywife and myself for lunch at Portmeirion as a nice surprise. We had previously dined there and were overjoyed with complete package. My wife had wanted to go for something less low key in the nearby town but I, wanting to make this special convinced her to go.

A sandwich in the town and a cuppa would have been the better option. I must mention we were there for lunch not dinner so a slightly more relaxed feeling I would have been fine with but;

Firstly - when we arrived there was no one to greet us. I realise it was 11:45 and lunch begins at 12:00 but a warm welcoming face goes a long way.I had to walk around and find the barman who kindly helped us, the rest of the staff were sitting near the bar preparing other things (cutlery etc).
The barman brought us the menus and read from a clipboard a few pieces of paper down the specials and what they did not have today (Lobster, Mackeral, a terrine). Firstly we were disappointed as my wife was and has been looking forward to the lobster for years now (its never on the menu when we are there). Secondly, for this type of establishment I would expect the staff to know what the specials are are what they do not have without having to read it from a clipboard.

We were then shown to our tables after ordering by a very pleasant young lady who I beleive was working the reception area and dealing with monies. We were sat at a very nice table in the window overlooking the gardens, very nice indeed on such a fine day. Missing from the table were my wifes desert fork, salt and pepper (basic things I think you would agree), and we checked the rest of the tables and we were the only ones with missing pieces. This meant later that my wife rather embarressingly hate to take salt from the next table. As a consequence a very baffled man then had to remove salt from yet another table behind him. As a general rule of thumb if a customer orders steak either the staff bring a steak knife to replace the standard dinner knife or a steak knife comes on the plate alongside the steak. Neither, I had to ask for a steak knife after my wifes first few attempts on cutting into the meat.

Starters - I had the Goats cheese salad with sun dried tomatoes and balsamic vinegar. THis was truly imaculate, I could not falter it in any way. Delicious.

Main course - I had pork and herb sausages, mash and red onion marmalade, my wife took the Welsh beef steak with handcut chips and pepper sauce. My sausages and mash were lovely, however, there lack of herbs started my suspicion. A few mouthfuls down the line and in all 3 sausages, not a herb in sight. They were definately porky, no doubts there but not an incalling of a herb. They actaully reminded me of a Tesco Finest sausage I once ate. Expecting a nice juicy rump steak I was surprised to see my wifes 1/2 cm thick piece of beef. She ate, or should I say tried to eat the steaka dn enjoy it. It was full of grissle and she ended up having to chew out the juice and spit the rest onto the plate and try to disguish it with left over salad. She even passed some to me as the portion was a good size, I also had the same trouble chewing. Handcu chips were definately not, they were perfectly uniform, as if from a machine, or a bag from the freezer. For me hand cut chips are rustic, thick chunky, fluffy in the middle. These were medium thin, crispy and had that taste only chips from the Chinese take away have.

While we were eating we observed as you do, people watch some like to say. The waiting staff continued to bring the clipboard to each table of guests and read specials and what they dont have, A few disappointed people started to order the loster only to find out there was none as the first waiter did not tell them there was none. Second waiter then shouts across the room to I presume the restaurant manager or supervisor to advise him this table had not been read the information. The staff in general were rather to informal and sometimes communicated across the restaurant to each other. The barman, as nicer chap he was brought wine and water to the tables without a tray (even though the guests were not seated and he was preparing). On more than one ocassion my wife observed a bottle of wine or tray (when there was glasses of beer, wine etc) shoved (literally) under his arm while he poured for the customers.

Desert - I had rice pudding with raspberry sorbet (yes you read correctly) and my wife had strawberry cheesecake. The rice pudding was ok, creamy, soft plump grains, all good but it lacked something. The day before I had finished a few spoons of my daughters rice pudding from a jar and it more than exceeded this on I paid much more money for. My wifes cheesecake looked ok. There was a frog sporny looking mess surrounding it and a few dots. After closer inspection we fathomed some kind of kiwi, raspberry and mango coulis. The kiwi one was really sour, not sure they tasted it before hand, it was not off but needed sweetening. The cheesecake was nothing to write home about. Biscuit base was good although rather scarce and if it has even seen a strawberry I would be surprised. There was a feint (very) hint in the background but nothing substantial. If I eat cheesecake with a flavour I want to be able to taste the flavour, I'm all for subtlty when needed but there is a limit. I didn't mentione to my wife (already very disappointed at this point) but there was a finer mark of red coulis on the side of the plate. Someone had obviously tried to clean the plate but missed a bit, you could see where they had wiped it.

We left disappointed and paid at the front desk where there was no one in sight to start with. The meal came to 52.80 or there abouts. Not having change I advised the young lady (same one who remembered the specials without the clipboard) to make it 55 pounds, a smaller tip than I would usually leave but in light of the circumstances probably more than deserved. The young lady not hearing me took the 60 pound and gave me back the full change. When I advised her I said 55 she said thankyou and kept the full 60 pound. My jaw almost hit the floor, not wanting to make a scene I stormed out ranting, my wife absolutely astonished.

I should point out I have worked in a kitchen, and front of house most of my working life and although only at 3 star level the service and food were certainly of a much higher standard and more professional.

As you can probably tell very very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobSmith1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed just one night at this fantastic hotel, and it definitely was not enough time! As many others have said, the hotel is quite exceptional. The reception staff were warm and friendly and processed our booking quickly. We stayed in Castle 1 and were delighted by the size of the room and all the facilities. The room overlooked the garden and had a large king size bed, open plan lounge area with sofa, dining table and chairs, a TV system and a kitchenette area for drinks etc. There was a large closet and a bathroom with jacuzzi bath and power shower. All the little touches were taken care of such as toiletries and drinks, as well as bathrobes and slippers if required. The room had underfloor heating and was cosy and warm. Dinner in the conservatory dining room was wonderful with exactly the right ambience and lighting. The staff were friendly with the right balance of attentiveness. The bar was relaxing with comfy leather sofas and a massive fireplace. We slept very well in the comfortable bed and had a really tasty breakfast. Portmeirion itself is unique and you can visit as many times as you wish during your stay. We particularly enjoyed the forest train trip in the torrential rain as the driver was great fun and full of information! In fact, the whole time the staff were so friendly and helpful that we felt as if we were part of the family. It was fantastic and we will be back as soon as we can for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Property: Castell Deudraeth
Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing