We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway couldn't ask for a more relaxing place to stay.”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We arrived at the castell deudraeth to find ther was a big conference on so the restaurant ther would be shut for our entire stay, so we chose to walk down and eat at the hotel in the village, highly recommended the food for both dinner and breakfast was incredible. As for the hotel I have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world but we found a gem on our own doorstep, we booked a late room for one night and a quick getaway after checking in we found we were in a suite with separate livingroom, bedroom and kitchen, the place was beautiful, lovely working fireplace in the living room and heated floors throughout the suite, a nice jacuzzi bath, and a lovely big comfortable bed! The staff were so lovely and the village is only a 5 minute walk, we did have good weather so walking around was easy and not as messy as it would be with the usual welsh drizzle. I cannot stress how perfect this place is for a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 420 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

I recently bought a 2 night break on KGB. We were allocated a wonderful room - or should I say suite - in room Castle 5. A decanter of sherry, bottles of water awaited us - replenished the next day. We had a living flame gas fire, leather settee and chairs, a jacuzzi bath, l'occitane toiletries, slippers. The food was wonderful, as were the staff. Full marks!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maz6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We loved the Penthouse Suite at the Castell so much last year that we just had to come back again this winter.
We were warmly greeted at reception by Carys & Laura & asked if we wanted help with our bags, I declined as I just wanted to get installed, the fire lit & a cup of tea.
There had obviously been a slight breakdown in communication somewhere as the children's beds hadn't been sorted, but by the time I'd got back down to reception they had realised this omission & duly organised their delivery & making up without making a big deal out of it.
The lady who came to make these beds up was so lovely & asked if we had everything we needed for our stay.
The dining room & service was just as good as last year & we all went for the Christmas menu, which was beautiful.
The only thing missing was the snow which, unfortunately, didn't happen this year but everything else was just perfect.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is amazing for a family of four, but has really limited views due to the caste w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in the Castell for 3 nights, we got a great deal on dinner, B&B. I cannot remember the room number but it was a spacious room with a small sitting area and beautiful gas fire place. My 2 year old slept on a travel bed and the room was more than big enough for this. We had a whirlpool bath in a very spacious bathroom. The restaurant was very good indeed, food was excellent and we ate early so guests without children could enjoy some 'adult time' later on. The staff were very helpful in making life easy for us with our toddler and did whatever they could. The cocktails in front of the roaring fire were exquisite, a real treat at the end of the day. We will definitely go back there, such a beautiful place to visit and walking along the beach in winter was fab.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKTravellerLiz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We got an amazing deal to stay at Castell Deudraeth in rooms 6 and 8. The rooms were veurious, with lovely robes, complimentary Sherri, surround sound system, Jacuzzi bath, high quality toiletries, simply perfection! We didn't want to leave the room, but when we did what a treat to see the village of Portmeirion. Wow. Such a feast and delight for the eyes. We were blessed with sunny warm weather in late November so that added to our experience.
We ate the first night in Hotel Portmeirion restaurant where the service was great except for the curt manner of Robin who seemed to be the person in charge. He maybe needed to choose a different career rather than one in customer service, although he did crackk a smile when we left...:-)
It felt like a totally undulgent treat and was well worth the KGB voucher price. My son and his girlfriend, both 19, also enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: We loved Castell 6 and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Quality experience from the minute you arrive with good friendly staff, looked after by Nia at reception who was friendly and knowledgeable.
Had a suite which was wonderful and relaxing with all facilities you would need in the room and a nice touch with the decanter of sherry.

Nice brasserie meal as we were here for the Geraint Jarman gig and the food for the price was excellent.

The gig itself was great and feel they could do a lot more of these gigs and packages as the place was full.

Breakfast was fresh and well presented with a good selection of fresh fruit.

Overall you cannot fault this place and will return very soon for a chill out break as this location cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidCMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Castell on a KGB voucher and were a little confused by the fact that we were actually booked in there rather than at the Hotel itself However, it was very nice to have a suite with sitting room, bedroom with super kingsize bed, large bathroom and a little kitchenette (although only equipped with a kettle and fridge). The gas fire was nice and cosy but the leather sofas are a bit slippery and the decor was quite minimalist. Maybe some cushions might make it a bit more comfortable. The hotel is currently running a Winter Break price which is a good deal and works out actually £9 cheaper than using the KGB voucher if you include breakfast and dinner. We ate at the Brasserie the first night and the Hotel the second night. Both meals we really enjoyed and we are quite hard to please. The staff in both restaurants were helpful and efficient, so no complaints there. The village itself may not be to everyone's taste but it is in a wonderful situation and it is worth at least one visit just to appreciate the eccentricity of the place. Many other guests just love it and come back again and again. We enjoyed our stay very much and two members of staff, Nia at reception at the Castell and David at the entrance to the village, really were extra helpful and made us feel very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linfturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
299 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: $152 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing