We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtedly fine food but maybe a little over elaborate”

Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant in the curvilinear dining room of The Hotel Portmeirion overlooking the tidal estuary. Lounge menu served on the terrace (unless a wedding or function has reserved exclusive use of the facilities). Afternoon tea available from 2pm to 5pm. Traditional Sunday lunch (a Sunday lunch booking and credit card details are required for free entry to the village).
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly fine food but maybe a little over elaborate”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Staying in the village for three nights, we enjoyed the Hotel's breakfasts each morning and dined there one evening. Firstly the setting - magical. You enter the restaurant through three separate linked sitting rooms, so masses of comfortable space to enjoy a pre-dinner drink, or just relax in front of one of the open fires. The dining room at the end looks right over the estuary and, next to The Beach Cafe at Sennen Cove, has one of the most spectacular dining views in the country, particularly on a sunny evening in June when sunset isn't until way after 9.00pm. The dishes are works of art and very tasty, though just a trifle over presented and with maybe too many flavours on the one plate, setting the taste buds a real challenge. Also, as other reviews have noted, the experience and atmosphere is let down by slack, uncaring even, service, which we experienced at both dinner and breakfasts. When such care is taken to produce works of art on a plate, the service expectations should match....and sadly it doesn't. Quirkily, as we were staying in the village, we had no real idea what the dinner cost, and didn't receive a bill (though we could have asked for one). The breakfasts were excellent by the way!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    86
    31
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great views, good food (Haute Cuisine) but poor service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lunch time eating 1st week of June 2013 was always going to be popular with the glorious weather. We were very fortunate to have one of the best tables outside with a perfect view of the Portmeirion village and the bay. The food was very good even if the portions were sparing (haute cuisine).
However the experience was spoiled a little by the poor service - not ideal when you have children of 6 and 8 waiting - in the end we waited that long my wife had to take the kids off to the beach.
Also note the Americans (coach parties?) seem to love this place and also the Snowdon Mountain Railway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a fine dining experience”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

we are locals and live within a stone's throw of the infamous Portmeirion. My husband treated me recently to a fab meal here. Feom the moment the taxi dropped us off and we walked down to the hotel you can't help but be blown away by the scenery and the whole ambiance. You are made to feel special as soon as you enter the hotel/ restaurant. A gentleman opened the door for us and the recptionist took our coats and welcomed us. We were the greeted by a harpist playing lovely Welsh folk songs. The food was exceptional, fresh and excellent.y cooked. From start to finish a fantastic evening. Coffee and sweets in one of the lovely lounges topped off a perfect evening. The staff are attentive without being in your face. I challenge anyone to be disappointed with the service, food and whole experience here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gb1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“genius on a plate”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here for our anniversary and dined in the hotel both nights. I'm sure Portmeirion village is a draw, but with the scenery, setting, service and food this hotel does not need it. The way food was prepared and flavours combined was genius on a plate, I loved every mouthful. Staff were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
579 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Our favourite meal ever”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The restaurant is in the hotel, down by the waterfront, and is totally different to the bistro which is in the Castell where we stayed. I'm sure the food there is good, but the meal we had at the hotel was out of this world. For the quality it wasn't particularly expensive either, two courses for £30-£40. We've eaten at a few michelin star restaurants and this could honestly have been one of them, no problem at all.

The building is impressive and we sat in the lounge when we arrived before we went through to the dining room. It was quite well lit, not as cosy as we normally like, but still very grand.

For starters my wife had cauliflower soup, superb flavour and consistency, and I had scallops with wasabi - an amazing mix of flavours. For her main she had Gnocci with truffle oil, and I had the Welsh Beef, cooked perfectly accompanied by just a few vegetables. There was just the right amount of food, and we had an excellent bottle of wine which we just about managed to finish. I had the cheese to follow, which was a little plain after the wonderful starters and main, but filled me up just right.

Coupled with the hotel's location, this was probably our favourite meal ever !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing