We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: British, Welsh, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining restaurant in the curvilinear dining room of The Hotel Portmeirion overlooking the tidal estuary. Lounge menu served on the terrace (unless a wedding or function has reserved exclusive use of the facilities). Afternoon tea available from 2pm to 5pm. Traditional Sunday lunch (a Sunday lunch booking and credit card details are required for free entry to the village).
Newtown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I sat down with my friends and family to have a drink at this place (a group of 9) and no one acknowledged us, and after 20 minutes of waiting for someone to take our order, we got up and decided to go somewhere else, only when we did this did someone ask 'is there anything i can do for you?' But we just declined and went to have a lovely cup of coffee and food from Caffi Glas instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    83
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wigan
2 reviews
“Serene”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was booked by my hubby as a late birthday surprise so I was not sure what to expect. However I have told him he must always arrange such things in the future as it was just brilliant. The meal itself preceded by cocktails on the terrace was superb and the service was excellent. The weather was a plus and it was so serene sitting outside on the deck before our meal with the sound of the harpist from inside adding to the ambience.
Will definately visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calmacWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have celebrated our wedding anniversary by having Sunday lunch at the Restaurant in the Portmeirion Hotel for the past 4 years. Every time it has been superb. The service is formal and attentive, the food is traditional with a Welsh twist and great value too. In addition, you get free entry to the village.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sootydog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VerY pretentious”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We were a family of 5 members. The welcoming was suspious and cold. The food was interesting and strange but no one could explain us if it was a molecular cuisine. There was no soul in this restaurant. The atmosphere was cold and intrusive . The price was too high and does not justify the food that was served.

Helpful?
Thank Miryam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb service with superb food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Eating in this lovely building, in it's unrivalled location, is a pleasure. It would be a pleasure if the food was mediocre. The food is, however, certainly not mediocre - it's exceptional.
A great balance between haute cuisine and decent eating; lovely well presented food of the highest quality, suberbly cooked but in decent portion sizes. This is not attempting to be pretentious, as so many higher end restaurants seem to, it just seems that the cooks know what they are doing and are happy showing off their cooking skills. The serving staff are also of the highest standard, attentive and polite but not intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exmember11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Portmeirion, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing