We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, pitty it was not a longer stay”
Review of Hotel Portmeirion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Portmeirion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having visited previously and enjoyed lunch at the hotel, we decided to book a 2 night stay at Castell Deudraeth. The room was superb, the bathroom being in the tower with views in all directions. Had meals in both the Castell and main hotel - the Hotel meal was preferred, the Castell being bistro style.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szjr5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for only 2 nights in February- actually staying in one of the rooms in the village. The accmomodation was wonderful, the meal at the Hotel was one of the best meals I have ever had and the views and layout of the village surpassed all expectations. The sun shone for the whole time we were there and we did 2 of the walks, again they have to be seen to be believed.

I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone and can envisage becoming a complete bore on this subject for many years to come. Can't wait to go back and hope to do this in the autumn.

Room Tip: No tips needed I am sure all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane Nunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days at the prior lodge and must say apart from the weather we enjoyed our stay the food and service was excellent . We will be revisiting this great place but in the summer......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights at the magnificent Portmeirion but its never long enough.....I went with my young boy and my mum on a bed & breakfast basis and stayed in one of the houses. It was clean and looked stunning, amazing views over the beach and we even got sherry in the room which was topped up every day! The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made our short stay there very enjoyable. The breakfast we had was immense, in particular the lava-bread and leek sausages which are to die for and for only an additional £5 my son had the choice of everything that should normally costs £17.50! Will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: Bridge House 4 has an amazing view over the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talula27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this fantastic place on day trips and have always wanted to stay. We bought a KGB deal last autumn and stayed in January. Great value to stay and eat at this magical place full of character with fab walks, a lovely room, nice food and great service. Roll on next year we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulsuecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for just one night's dinner, bed and breakfast at the Hotel. Firstly a lovely location and the Village is well worth a visit. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. We were shown to our room via a myriad of quaint stairs and corridors (No 10) which is right at the far end of the hotel on the top floor. A bright and comfortable room, but the windows are quite high up so you can only see the great views when standing up! The bathroom was small but adequate.
The main sitting areas are pleasant with of course the views, but I personally felt that leather sofas and art deco style lighting did not suit the building. Dinner was interesting! Everything thing we ate was beautifully cooked, but I struggled with some of the chef's combinations of ingredients. But overall a good meal. Again very attentive staff.
We slept well, comfortable bed. Breakfast was had in the conservatory which was delightful. For breakfast we both had the all English, minus black pudding and hash browns. I decided to have scrambled egg which I can only describe as slightly pink and tasteless. I'm not sure whether free range eggs were specified, but I would doubt that these were. Disappointing. However the tea and coffee was good. All in all we enjoyed our short stay and appreciated the dedication of the staff. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PatriciaClaire177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in the Castle Penthouse Suite (which is part of the Portmerion Estate and a five minute walk from the village/hotel)and it is fantastic, very modern room with its own kitchenette and private little staircase. Really big spacious room with beanbags for children to watch tv/dvds on in the middle of the living room rug and gas fire that you can see from bedroom section and living room on an open chimney breast in the middle of the room, two tvs too on bedroom and living room side. Fabulous big bed. Own patio area with small turret and tiny views out to the open country side through the arrow slits in the walls. We have stayed here a few times and also the village rooms over the years and cannot fault the service from the staff who are all locals and very friendly - most are the same staff year on... Food is delicious, never had a bad one yet. If you stay you have the option of either eating in the castle or there is a mini bus that takes you down to the hotel but the walk is nice too perhaps on the way back the (pathway is lit all the way at night). Village is lovely and magical to see, so unusual albeit a few looked like they were ready for a lick of paint, as it is has been last few years - it would be nice if, somehow, they could get on top of every building every year as it does spoil the magical effect slightly. Great for walking in the surrounding and hilly woodlands that belong to the Estate.

Room Tip: Penthouse in Castle is great you are like in your own little world up there. If you go for a village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
17.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portmeirion

Address: | Minffordd, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: $147 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portmeirion 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Portmeirion is a romantic seaside resort on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales. It was opened by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926. Noel Coward wrote Blithe Spirit here in 1941. Patrick McGoohan filmed The Prisoner here in 1966-67. In early September Portmeirion hosts Festival No6, a unique celebration of arts and music. Access during the festival period is for Festival Ticket Holders only. Portmeirion is open every day all year and is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Portmeirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portmeirion Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing