We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good lunch”

Castell Deudraeth Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Welsh, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Castell Deudraeth is an informal brasserie style restaurant on the Portmeirion estate serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Lunch served 12.00 to 2.00pm daily. Booking is advised especially during school holidays however if you turn up without a booking we will always try to accommodate your requirements. A free entry voucher to Portmeirion is available with a two course lunch. Parking outside; no steps on ground floor. Castell Deudraeth has 11 rooms and suites upstairs (with lift and stair access). Open all year.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Really good lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arrived at the castell and it was a glorious day which helped. Staff were pushed and a little inattentive. Once we got started though the food was really good and the staff pleasant enough. Try the cannelloni or the chicken and tagliatelle. Creme brûlée was to die for. To top it all if you have a two course lunch you get free passes into Portmeirion - really good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    103
    45
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the Hotel Portmeirion restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

which can be a little grand and over-attentive. We loved the contrast of the relaxed atmosphere inside the forbidding exterior, and the staff are gorgeous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsJulieRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Efficient staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

They did get both our orders wrong to start with at lunch; and giving ham to a veggie is a big no no.
But the dinner session was much better.
Nice food, fair menu choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good range of appealing dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We looked at the Hotel Portmeirion menu, and in common with many "fine dining" venues - the ingredients were exotic, pretentious and frankly off-putting (unless you like wood pigeon etc). So we chose the Castle restaurant during our stay, hoping for more familiar items but prepared very well.

In this we were not disappointed. Overall the experience was rewarding - not pretentious, but not ordinary either. I would definitely recommend this venue, although not inexpensive.

The only fault was a long delay before ordering and the desserts weren't quite in line with the prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Born-in-NW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had often passed Castell Deudraeth on our way to and from Portmeirion. We had the opportunity to go there for lunch on a Tuesday as a special treat. We started with drinks in the lounge and went through to the restaurant which has fantastic views across the water and out into the gardens. We started with local mussels (from Anglesey) and then on to burgers made with Welsh beef and hand-cut chunky chips. The service was faultless and the food excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sootydog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castell Deudraeth Brasserie also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Portmeirion, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castell Deudraeth Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing