We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peace”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Brecon,Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Wonderful peace”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The George III is in a wonderful location right on the Mawddach estuary with wonderful walks in all directions.
It is extremely peaceful and we awoke to the sound of birds on the estuary only a few yards away.
The food and the beers were also exceptionally good and accompanied by superb service.
We can thoroughly recommend this as a base for any activity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrallongTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    98
    75
    51
    66
See reviews for
114
173
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I stayed for 2 nights with my mobility impaired auntie. The hotel was not really wheelchair friendly but the staff were accomodating and helpful and it was manageable. There is a short but steepish slope from the carpark to the main hotel. Unfortunately the nearest Disabled Parking place was often parked on by inconsiderate customers.The downstairs bar which is more accessible was a bit more open to the elements and much used by families.The views and location are wonderful. There is a wheelchair friendly cycle path from Dolgellau to Barmouth which is well used by families and groups of walkers. Cader Idris is also nearby for more adventurous walkers/ climbers.The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the 'lodge' - formerly Platform 1 on the converted station with views across the estuary. The unique toll bridge is closed at night so noise was not a problem. Breakfast was quite good and the a la carte evening meal was excellent. The Carvery also looked good and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We love coming to stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely superb, utter peace and tranquillity, watching the tide ebb and flow. The busiest living thing in the estuary is the heron, though the staff are equally busy running round after the numerous clients. This is not a big hotel, but is like a honeypot for visitors, and at times it can be very busy, but at others, very quiet. We have stayed in both the old railway station and the main hotel, the views from both are staggeringly beautiful. Breakfast is served in the lovely dining room overlooking the river. Dinner can be eaten in a variety of rooms, on busy nights it is probably advisable to avoid the dining room, but to eat in the bar. We shall certainly be visiting again, to enjoy the scenery and the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortyninerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton england
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

the view is the best thing about this hotel breathtaking we stayed in the lodge next to hotel (if you can get a room in main building) rooms in lodge basic but clean ok for a couple of nights small tv needs skiping or sending to flog it.pub and restaurant pricey but ok service patchy be prepared to wait but nice food when it arrives tip take a drive to machelyneth amazing views

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I'm from Dolgellau, so I wasn't staying at the hotel, just eating at the restaurant; my fiancée and I were visiting my parents and decided to go out for dinner on the Saturday night. We'd booked for 7, and arrived just before. We were seated pretty promptly, and provided with menus. So far so good. It all went downhill from here. They took so long to take our order that we began to despair; every time someone came in we looked round hopefully, but in vain. Finally we actually asked the waitress if she would take our order. She said she would soon, and left; after a few minutes she came back and we ordered. Then began the long wait for our food. Eventually, at about 8.10, my father got up to find someone to enquire to after it. Our starters arrived shortly after. The wine we'd ordered never did. We finished our starters (all good quality and well presented) and waited. No wine and no main course arrived. Nor did any apology or explanation. No one once came to tell us we would have to wait. No one even came to clear our plates. And so we went home, paying for the starters we'd had, and had a Chinese.

The hotel is at a stunning location; the menu is extensive; the quality of the food is good. But they're getting something badly wrong if they handle a busy Saturday evening in August so poorly that customers leave before their main course.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We visited this hotel becasue of the location which is stunning so we were not dissapointed there. Our welcome on arrival was not particulary warm and once we found our way to the room which was also the fire exit!, to find plaster coming off the wall and a damp ceiling our expectations were low!
We booked a table in the restaurant for dinner. Our table overlooked the estuary and the view was hard to beat, our food which arrived promptly was good and wholesome, nothing fancy but well cooked and good portions well presented. Service was mixed, some staff were very pleasant and welcoming others not so.
After a days walking it was nice to sit on the balcony with a beer (or a cream tea!) and admire the view, again service was good and prompt.
The location deserves more than a two star hotel, but at present two star is what you get, albeit perhaps a little expensive for that grading, but we were prepared to pay a little more for the location. We had a bedroom at the back, I'm sure ones at the front would have superb views.
Good choice of beers in the bars, wine choice a bit limited.
Expect two star and you wont be too dissapoited, expect more and you will.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Room was spotless & charmingly full of character with every need catered for, including wireless internet, telephone, flatscreen tv & heated towel rail in the en-suite, the bed was extremely comfortable).The food was delicious & plentiful with a wide variaty of dishes to choose from mixing traditional with a la carte. The hotel dates back to the 15th century and it shows in its layout and character, it has a very warm and relaxing atmosphere, staff were hard working and polite. My husbund and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay, enjoying the beautiful scenery on our bike rides into Barmouth. I would highly recommend this hotel and will deffinitely be returning.

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — The price of a pint.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fevs_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing