We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly perfect in every way”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We can say it has been a pleasure for us to have eaten at the George for the last eight nights.
Why?
Well first, the menu was very comprehensive, the quality, taste, service and presentation exceeded excellent which probably explains why it is very busy every night.

The staff we cannot fault they smiled and joked with us and made a real fuss of our three year old grand daughter in a genuine loving way.

In the future we will certainly be eating there some more. "After all you cannot get too much of a good thing"

Stuart H

We thank you the George most sincerely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    98
    75
    51
    66
See reviews for
114
173
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited after a cycle from Barmouth and it seemed a good idea at the time. The staff were beyond rude ( especially an older female manageress and older barman) who were ruder than john Cleese in Fawlty Towers (and NOT funny)We were not allowed to give a drink order to staff ( you know, like in a real hotel?) but instead had to make our way to the bar and wait with LOTS of other very unhappy people-with just one barman on duty. When we finally got a drink we were given a paper ticket and told to take it to the carvery where were told we couldn't have food from the menu ONLY the carvery menu. We walked out in the end, after a stand up row with the manageress who turned on her heel and blanked us! Can someone please tell this hotel to put themselves and us public out of our misery and sell up soon? It's BEYOND a joke, and quite honestly outrageous that they are in business. They should be reported to an
organisation with more clout than even Trip advisor.. It's a disgrace that they take money from the paying public for what they call a service but which is a downright scandal. DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL- no, I take that back, go, and then write a review on this site... Perhaps they'll get the hint and sell up.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank shroppy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stopped for a pint after a lovely bike ride from Barmouth, the location is stunning when the sun is shining and there was lots of passing trade from the road and the trail which follows an old railway line(very easy to cycle). Shame about the lady behind the bar, what a misery. It was almost as if it was too much trouble to sell some drinks, it wasn't exactly busy. As for asking what flavour crisps they had(the boxes behind the bar were not labelled) was like asking for a Michelin starred bar snack. It is a real shame as it is lovely Hotel in a great location that I would have brought the rest of my friends and family back to(there were 11 of us) but we stayed in and cooked our own food, clearly the owners are happy to lose customers. Unfortunately this experience was repeated at several other cafes in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

For over 30 years we have been staying in Dolgellau twice a year for our holidays. We have made many good local friends in the area during this time.At one time this hotel was held in very high regard. Sadly as the years have gone by it has gone downhill but we have been going there I suppose out of loyalty. Our last trip was the week before Easter 2014 and we used the George for a Saturday meal for four. Service was OK but the barman was unhelpful, abrupt and quite honestly rude. However I ignored this thinking he had a bad day. After some help from another member of staff we got seated in an area between the corridor and the guests dining room. Food was just about OK but not brilliant for the money. On the Sunday we went back, this time a helpful young lady at the bar, thank god-- got seated in the bar but had to wait one and a half hours between order and service to the table. On enquiry about the food I was told that they had served 100 meals that night. So what--no apology at all and a very sharp response from a senior lady, not the bar girl I must add who was embarrassed about the whole thing. Food was only fair and we were glad to leave. Following night we went to the Cross Foxes on the other side of Dolgellau and although they were busy the food and service could not be faulted at the same money as the George. At the Foxes the manager came around the table and asked if all was OK, service not seen at the George. I am sad to write this review but I think the George has run its course with its poor staff attitude and over priced food. It only survives because of its location. No more George for us next time unless we get the proper service. I hope that the management take these points on board--its not only us that don't like it, its the locals as well who keep away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a family meal Easter Sunday, can't fault the meal or the restaurant staff, but the obnoxious attitude of the barman would be enough to put anybody off a revisit. A real shame as I have known and visited this hotel for more than 40 years.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were planning on having a nice lunch here in beautiful surroundings but were told after ordering our drinks that children were not allowed and had to be in the room at the back of the hotel, a dark and empty room.!!
Obviously we then left!we have 2 children(ages 10 and 8) both of which are very well behaved and at the time were sitting looking at the menu.
If you are of a certain age and dont like children i can recommend otherwise i suggest going to one of the other establishments nearby were you are welcomed with a smile!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Please do not go here if you have children. We went for a meal as we had on numerous occasions (we live locally) and were told by the barman - you can't sit there with children (this was to be the girls, age 8 and 11 who know how to behave in restaurants! first meal there), you will have to sit in the back room at table 2 (the room was segregated dark and empty) When I enquired as to when this rule had come in, I was just told there's a sign on the doorway. Needless to say our money went elsewhere as we finished our drink and left. If you are 60+ and Welsh you should be ok.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing