We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riverside location, acceptable accommodation”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stunning location: the bar, restaurant and outdoor seating and many of the rooms overlook the Mawddach estuary north to the hills of Snowdonia. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable though dated, and there is a cosy residents' sitting room off the main bar in case the weather is not good enough to sit outside. Breakfast is good apart from the dreadful coffee, dinner less so (see separate review). Service a bit haphazard but friendly. Rooms in the annexe ( the old railway station) are cheaper than those in the main hotel and in summer would suffer less from noise from the bar and outside seating ( to judge from the quantity of outside seating, the place is extremely busy in high season), though you might find the fact that a busy footpath passes within feet of your window rather offputting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coho03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for George III Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 414 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had heard mixed reviews but it was lovely and will go again, Great location, excellent food, friendly staff. Stayed in the Lodge - room large, huge bathroom (despite the slug in the shower!). Only problem concerned heating/hot water initially until we found out how it worked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The 'staff wanted' sign by the entrance did worry us, but the rooms were well equipped, tea/coffe tray on low windowsill looking out across the estuary. Shame it was just a double bed but that's not a major problem. A bit slo service in the restaurant, but we were on a break - why rush good food and characterful staff. Great setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greycell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On 2nd May 2013 we were having a nice walk along the estuary and decided to call into this hotel for some tea and cake. I wasn't sure where to go so went into the bar area where there was no sign of any staff. When someone finally turned up I said that I was looking for a tea room only to be told abruptly that there was no tea room round here. I noticed a selection of
pre packaged cakes on the bar so said I would have one of these with some tea and went and sat outside with my husband. Whilst there I witnessed the lady who was trying to sit on a picnic bench over the road and going to come into the hotel to buy some food/drink. The waitress served us and then said ''What are they doing over there'' and then disappeared. The tea was O.K. but a plate for the cake would have been very nice - I ended up eating it out of a wrapper.

The staff seem to have a serious chip on their shoulder and I would prefer not to go here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank anne0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at George III. We stayed in the Lodge, in the upstairs suite, which consisted of a bedroom, bathroom with bath, sink and toilet, shower room and a lounge with balcony overlooking the Mawddach Estuary. As well as the usual tea/coffee making facilities the lounge was also equipped with a wine fridge which was a nice touch.The suite was clean and comfortable, and very cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The location was perfect, if a little busy during the bar and restaurant opening hours. The hotel and Lodge both overlook the Mawddach Estuary and have excellent views, it is a beautiful location.
We had one evening meal during our stay and found the food to be very nicely cooked and hot and tasty.
Breakfast was served to your table, and there was also a range of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad etc. We both opted for the full breakfast which was nice but we found the bacon and sausage had no taste, so the following day opted for kippers and poached egg and scrambled egg on toast which was very good. Toast was served to your table and there was a choice of preserves. Tea was also served to your table but coffee was self service, along with fruit juices. On the first day the service was a little slow but there was only one waitress serving and she was rushed off her feet, all credit to her she still gave service with a smile. The hotel was within easy reach of lots of places of interest and seemed to appeal to cyclists and hikers, which made it very busy during the daytime.
We had a very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the Lodge (the former station masters house) as it was a little quieter...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Yesterday (May 2nd 2013) my family and I had enjoyed a lovely walk along the estuary. As we were walking back to our car we decided we wanted to have a cup of tea, and probably a cake, from the George.

Opposite the pub, on the other side of the road, is a single picnic table. We thought we would sit there as we have dogs and so would keep them away from other patrons who were sitting on the tables outside of the pub.
There is a very clear sign stating that the table belongs to the George and no picnicking allowed.
We understood that perfectly seeing as we are all capable of reading.

So stopped at the bench, tied the dogs up. I had a quick drink of my water considering that we'd been walking for a long time, it was a fairly hot day and this was the first time we'd stopped for quite a while. My mother was in the process of getting her purse out of her rucksack so she could go inside to order tea and cakes.

Next thing we knew a very rude woman was shouting across the road from the pub that we weren't allowed to stop there and had to move.
We turned around and told her we were stopping there to have a cup of tea from the pub and she proceeded to argue with us that I'd had a drink and that my mother was getting food out of her bag. Even when my mother picked up her purse and showed it to the woman she still tried to rudely argue that my mother was getting food out. (I've never tried to eat money before. I might try to now seeing as this woman believes it is a foodstuff. )

Obviously, we decided not to have a tea there as they don't deserve our custom.

I must say, I am struggling to understand what is so special about the George's tap water that walkers are not allowed to drink their own tap water.

So walkers and dog owners beware. The only time I would recommend that you stop at the George would be if you want a glass of tap water. It's obvious from this woman's rudeness that the George's (free) tap water is a very precious commodity and is something that you really must try. It's also obvious that they would rather somebody ask for tap water, and make no money from it, than to have people come in and pay for a cup of tea.

If she had (politely!) called over to us asking if we were coming into the George, we would have replied that we were getting a cup of tea from them and all would have been OK.
Instead she shouted across that we had to move as we were picnicking and when we told her, and showed her, that we were not, she still try to argue that we were.
There's a little thing called manners and also having the good grace when you're mistaken to apologise rather than try to argue that you were right even when all the evidence is to the contrary. Which are essential requirements for most staff in the hospitality industry. Actually, they're pretty basic requirements for being a member of human society. Obviously this woman is a very special woman and she doesn't have to be polite to customers.

To the owner of the George, I have one thing to say: Please train your staff how to be polite to customers as you have obviously failed to install this basic requirement of the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank dogwalker3981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the George overnight and the views were fabulous. The room was clean and nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. Evening meal was nothing to write home about but the breakfast was delicious, the best we've ever had. Service was good on both occasions.
On the down side, the bathrooms are in desperate need of an update and the toiletries are of poor quality, cheap and nasty springs to mind. Spending a little more on better quality shampoo and shower gel would make so much difference.
We did feel that the room was overpriced for what we got, but overall we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the estuary.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
340 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
494 reviews
5.7 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range: $122 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing