We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply disapointing”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just had an email from hotel booking company suggesting this hotel to stay,if I was offered a free week it would be too expensive!Stayed here this summer begining of August,it was the ultimate nightmare and when we complained we were told it was our fault we had not enjoyed the food and the room was tired and moldy,dont risk your hard earned money!

Room Tip: Go for a beer and take a photograph dont even try the the coffee,then move on befor you meet any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

It has taken this person 10 weeks to place this review! He has deliberately told absolute lies.He has done this beacuse we would not give him a reduction in the room rate. He booked this room for himself and his family (Family Room) during School Holidays. It was the last room available at the time.We explained to him several times before he booked, that the room was at the back of the Hotel, and did not have any views other than the car park.When he arrived he was given the choice to stay or he could leave with a full refund and go elsewhere.He chose to stay,but his intentions were to try and get a reduction,both on the room and the food.We would not give him either as he was fully informed of the situation before he booked.This room has been let every night over the School Holidays and no one else has complained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have had 2 3-night stays here in July and early September 2012. The views while eating breakfast/dinner are just stunning, as are the views from the rooms. Our rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff are delightful, the food is varied and tasty. There are beautiful local walks along the Mawddach estuary. Total peace and tranquility! We will be returning...

Room Tip: The suite is very comfortable, quiet and has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ive been to the George a couple of times now and I have had no complaints. The food is fantastic and delicious and the service was very good, friendly and very helpful. The view is outstanding and don't think u could get it much better than on a nice sunny day,and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelr428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have not stayed here, only eaten in the Cellar Bar. There are a number of other options for eating and no-doubt a different menu upstairs. But all of them will share the same stunning location, on the Mawddach Estuary near Dolgellau. It has to have one of the nicest views in Wales. The building itself is full of character, with lots of balconies, and tables tucked under the biggest gingko tree I have seen in Wales. There is a small road between it and the estuary but it isn't exactly a major thoroughfare, leading to the hotel car park and perhaps a property or two beyond. This makes it quite relaxed for families as the kids are bound to want to go and feed the ducks at some stage! Then there's the food. Although it was Sunday lunchtime, we weren't very hungry so only had starters, on the advice of friends who go there regularly. It was good advice, as these (Maryland crab cake for me, deep-fried whitebait and duck srping rolls for others in my group) were large and filling, especially with some extra bowls of chips. The kids' meals were fairly standard but again generous portions. Although you had to go and collect it upstairs, there was also a Sunday carvery which seemed very popular and I saw plenty of people with heaped plates coming back down to sit and eat. The only reason I've given it four stars instead of five were that service was very slow (but it was Sunday afternoon on a lovely weekend) and also being charged £3.25 for a half-pint of Purple Moose ale, when a full pint was only £3.75, seemed just a little unfair to me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maloptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

oh dear! What have they done? This grand old pub was once the stuff of legend. Now it's reputation is in danger of slipping into the estuary. I asked the waitress whether the barman was as miserable as a previous visitor suggested. She said they had two barman who could answer that description. At 11.57am I was firmly rebuffed with a "we don't take food orders before noon". Need I say more.My visit was on a glorious sunny day and the surrounding area was packed - but not The George. It is a sad reflection of how a reputation can quickly disappear. A plea to the owners - do the decent thing and sell The George and put it back in the hands of an owner manager who can restore and do justice to this historic establishment. Give this place a miss. It doesn't deserve support.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KMDBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is one of our regular stops but usually at lunch time, we love the fact that now we are at a more mature age we can eat upstairs where no children are allowed, its so nice to have a lovely meal looking out at great views with a drink in your hand and no noisy children running around, we have all so had fantastic evening meals and have always found staff very pleasant all though we do avoid the main season months like August, as any good places to eat or drink will be packed with families, over all we have always had a good enjoyable meal here,

Room Tip: Fantastic for mature couples looking for a quieter place to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rumple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just spent fantastic few days at George III. My wife arranged a surprise 50th birthday celebration here. The staff were brilliant, coping with 23 for lunch including 4 late arrivals and all the meal changes that occurred. They even made sure I was not around when contacting my wife to check on details. The food is excellent, the Chef deserves a michelin star or two, we recommend the Bread and Olives, Stea and Ale pie with Waffles and Cherries to finish. The room was delightful with fantastic views across the estuary, comfy bed and was refreshed everyday. We didn't even need lunch with the wonderful breakfast on offer. We have travelled the world and still feel this is the best, nothing to beat waking up to the view, having a great breakfast then cycling the trail, ace.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, any room there is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range: $92 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing