We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
204
81
54
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
81
54
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea set menu wine list scones market menu a la carte menu drawing room country house hotel public rooms before dinner cream tea roaring fire kedgeree lamb stunning hotel travelzoo deal mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 381 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2016

The hotel is located in a beautiful area and the setting is second to none. Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The waiting staff were friendly, efficient and bilingual, which makes for a more homely experience. However, having been lured in by the tempting menu, the food was a great disappointment. It lacked both flavour and balance. In addition to this, we felt that the family photos, which appeared in abundance in most of the reception rooms, every staircase and corridor, made us feel more like intruders in someone's grand house, as opposed to guests in a hotel. For us, the hotel failed to meet our expectations, considering the substantial amount we paid. In the past, we have paid significantly less to stay in beautiful accommodation in places such as Castell Deudraeth where the location is equally magnificent and the food far superior.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HeyNonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

I had wanted to stay at this hotel for a few years having seen the sign as I drove past and checking it out on the website. We were very disappointed with the reality. The location is lovely though isolated without driving. The room was the biggest let down-first a dark back room overlooking the office where everything could be heard. Then a move to a better room but it's simply not worth the price. There are far superior hotels in Wales and elsewhere for a similar cost such as Bodysgallen Hall which this place could learn from in terms of quality and service. I found the owner ungracious and the service very slow and unfriendly generally. If you want to charge these prices, you need to upgrade the rooms and the service/manners. It takes more than pretty gardens to please customers.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Eleni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

What a wonderful festival ambiance as we were welcomed at the main entrance and taken to our seats by a glowing fire in the main lounge and handed cocktails and delicious canapés. Festive decorations were all around and we took the opportunity to take photographs by the Xmas tree.

The food menu was pre-set with some wonderful exciting courses - some six in all, so all we needed to do was to make a choice from Welsh Black Beef Wellington, Pan Fried Halibut or a Vegetarian dish for our main course. We agreed (some seven of us!) to go for white wine from New Zealand from a comprehensive wine listing. Other courses I should briefly mention included roasted quail, grilled cod, langoustine bisque, stilton and welsh cheddar and raspberry panna cotta; all delicious.

The food throughout the evening was just devine with such polite and attentive service and we finished with coffee and home made mince pies.

At around fifteen minutes past midnight all guests were treated to a magic firework display in the front gardens - just ace. 2016 had dawned and we returned for drinks to celebrate the birth of a New Year in this special and unique setting. Thanks Ali for having the foresight to make a booking. Happy New Year to all.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015

What a perfect 'home' for the weekend in the most beautiful setting. The Autumn colours were reflected in the hotels decor which was so comfortable and attractive. The place is full of very carefully collated details- from the family photographs to the ornamental details , all with their own little story.
The hotel staff were faultless as was the food,rooms etc etc. The hotel catered for us perfectly in every way. We intend to return to explore the area again.

Room Tip: Room views that look inland down the valley at the front of the house were stunning.
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 702ruthf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here over two nights. The service was fantastic and the food incredible. The area was beautiful even though we chose to visit during the tail end of a hurricane! I can see why some people might think it's expensive, but we visited with a deal and it was well worth the money. The dinner and breakfast was delicious. Also it seems a lot of people have complained re dogs. The hotel also needs to be respectful of guests who aren't fond of dogs.

Overall a great stay and every member of staff we came across was lovely....they couldn't do enough for us - including putting fruit tea in our room. Thanks Penmaenuchaf!

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NikkiMill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews