We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house”
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Country house”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a deal.this is not any old hotel but a sump-use country house in the grandest of style.
Staff great you and make you feel welcome by showing all ground floor rooms before talking you to your room.
This place is very clean,detail to every is top dollar ,dinner is well presented , and a most interesting menu.
If you won't some where to stay that is quite ,nice gardens to walk in and be looked after in grand style this is the place for you. Go for it you won't be disappointed . Big thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    68
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
29
228
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Pen Hall for a couple of days at the end of March and had a truly wonderful time. The room was great, the food sublime and the hotel and grounds beautiful. We were fortunate that the weather was glorious (tee shirt weather in March!) so walked the Mawddach Trail into Barmouth before catching the bus back to Dolgellau. A perfect weekend!

Just don't trust the local taxi drivers who only turn up if they feel like it, and it's not too late!

Room Tip: I can only say our room was lovely and have no reason to think the others aren't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We only stayed one night but were kicking ourselves that we hadn't booked earlier and got the previous night as well. Our room overlooked the lovely gardens which was a bonus. We would definitely recommend taking a walk and exploring the grounds. There is a lot to see and I imagine this is even more stunning as Summer takes hold. We walked down to the estuary as well which is a 5 min walk from the hotel which was lovely in the sunshine. We were very lucky to have stayed on a quiet night. We had the lounge to ourselves for pre dinner drinks and canapes and then were the only people in the restaurant. We ate by the windows looking out over the garden. The service from the point of our arrival to the minute we left was outstanding. I simply don't think you get service like this in many places in the UK anymore, sad but true. The staff were friendly and chatty. The food was excellent and they catered for my veggie boyfriend without any fuss. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. I liked the decor and the atmosphere of the whole place as others have eluded to.... it was totally calm and restful. We will without a doubt be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had a very enjoyable midweek break, just the two of us, no kids. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff, very friendly and courteous, service of a standard not often seen these days. I particularly liked the guided tour of the hotel at check in. The food was excellent. We were on the B&B package with tea on arrival and dinner on the first night. The market menu is a single choice menu but this appealed to us and we enjoyed it so much we ate in the hotel the second night and again the market menu did not disappoint. Breakfast also was excellent. Only two small criticisms - the tea on arrival includes a scone with jam and cream (all very nice) which is self-service from a table in a side room and a member of staff pours you a cup of tea which you then carry to your table. Given the general high standard of the hotel I don't understand why they do it this way. A pot of tea served to you at your chosen table with scones on a plate would be much nicer and cost little more. Secondly, our room "Vaughan" which was of a good size with a zip and link bed, had laminate flooring which seemed out of keeping with the standard of the décor. The rugs on top of this floor are a potential slip hazard. A great view over the garden however the décor of the room was quite dark given that the window was not that large.
In the scheme of things these are minor criticisms and I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Vaughan is a nice room overlooking the garden at the front. The décor is a little dark and the lamin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiccardoTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just spent three nights in this divine hotel . We were joined by friends , who also wanted a relaxing break away . We were allocated adjoining rooms on the second floor , and they were very clean ,warm , bright and extremely comfortable . The en-suite bathrooms had excellent facilities , though we noticed that in the evenings the hot water could have been
hotter .

On arrival we enjoyed a fantastic and very welcome cream tea , included in the deal . It was served in one of the many beautifully furnished rooms . I understand that the hotel has been in existence for about 25 years , when the proprietors bought the old house and proceeded to restore it to its former glory , with no expense or effort spared . The gardens too are a testament to the dedication and skill of the garden staff , with informal areas of woodland , and terraces laid out in a formal manner in a Victorian Italianate style .

We were impressed by the quality of the food , and by the staff who are efficient and courteous and cheerfully willing to 'go the extra mile ' at all times . Clearly there is a high morale amongst them . The breakfast menu was very comprehensive and satisfying , served in the dining room which is housed in a very large and charming conservatory extension . Service struck us as being a little slow at most times , but as the whole tempo of Penmaenuchaf Hall is refreshingly relaxed , we wondered why we were bothered by that , and we soon adopted a more laid-back attitude !! In fact it was a tonic - we all rush around too much in the course of our
too-busy-lives , and are in danger of forgetting what it is to relax .

The value for money was , in our opinion , exceptional , as we had taken advantage of an excellent offer . We will certainly endeavour to return next year , and cannot recommend the hotel too highly .

We could go on eulogising about this establishment ...... it would be very hard to find a better retreat , where the guests' comfort is paramount . A perfect place to 'shake down' , with amazing attention to detail in most marvellous and luxurious surroundings . The owners are very hands-on and aware - their presence is discreet but they are there when one wants them and they are so graciously welcoming . Go there and discover this for yourselves !!

Room Tip: Ask for twin beds if you don't want a double bed . I forgot this , but the bed was so comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We've stayed here a number of time over the past 20 years and it is a really special place to stay and eat. We prefer slightly out of season, when it is a little quieter. The rooms are a high standard - generally large - with amazing views. The restaurant is excellent. There are nice lounges, which are nicely decorated - far more space than any other hotel I have stayed in - so lots of room to sit and relax, read, etc. The area is beautiful - great for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillTheLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (2 adults & 2 teenage boys). We booked a 2 night B&B package with afternoon tea on arrival & dinner for one night. The hotel was lovely with a stunning morning room, conservatory & entrance hall. The gardens & grounds are also lovely & views spectacular.
With regards to the food the breakfasts were faultless & dinner excellent, the only complaint being the lack of choice on the Market Menu. After discussion though they did agree to accommodate our dislike of the goats cheese starter for an alternative.
Our boys' room (Williams Room) was vrry nice but our room (called Price) was somewhat disappointing although it did have lovely views of the garden). It was small, dusty & very tired. The sheets, pillows & bed cover were all marked & old. This bedroom & bathroom have been mentioned in previous reviews & I would have expected the Management to have acted.
The staff were all polite apart from one older member of staff who we found to be unpredictable in her manner. We witnessed one incident that was simultaneously unbelievable & amusing. The story goes that a couple sat nearby in the lounge who were in a somewhat playful mood suggested that they were "hiding" from the older member of staff as they had presumably moved into the lounge unannounced for coffee & liqueurs. As the older lady served them she replied in a somewhat loud tuneful voice "I've found you!" Following this amusing scene the lady guest politely said that she had actually asked for no ice in her Baileys. With that, the very same waitress gave her a stern look & promptly whisked the offending drink away leaving the guest feeling very awkward & embarrassed! She soon returned with a replacement drink (no ice!) without a comment or friendly retort. This left the 4 of us looking at each other in stunned silence wondering at her abrupt change of mood! We then all spontaneously burst out laughing!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
194 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Property: Penmaenuchaf Hall
Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing