We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A splendid Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel this afternoon for a splendid Afternoon Tea. The staff were very obliging - they even offered us the option of a 'doggy bag'. Well maintained hotel, gorgeous views and setting, with super decor. A fragrant mix of log fire and gorgeous lilies greated us. Well done team. We'll definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honey_pammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    66
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
28
218
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a totally fantastic stay in a beautiful and charming, spotlessly clean and lovely room with great views, excellent facilities and really nice furnishings.

Staff were perfectly helpful and very pleasant indeed.

Delightful food, excellent value for money - you really do get what you pay for.

So glad we did not meet up with some of the 'strange' folk who feel the need to criticise this splendid hotel on such trivial issues, "Get a life!" is the phrase that so readily springs to mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I agree with most of what "Travelinterests" have written below. This hotel has ideas of grandeur that they fail to meet. The hotel is old, dark & creaky with a strange odour to match. We were booked in for one night on a KGB deal celebrating a wedding anniversary. Our room was in the garret at the top of the hotel. The views from the two windows were extensive and only spoiled by the weather, the clouds being quite low. The bed was very comfortable with spotless white linen. We also had use of a LCD TV and CD player. Tea & coffee etc was inside a cupboard adjoining the wardrobe along with a large cobweb. These were the good points, the bad being the bed throwover was spotted with small stains like someone had opened a fizzy can of coke. The ensuite had a very narrow bath with a shower coming of the taps. ie a pipe hung loosely up the wall to a single bracket that held a cheap shower head. No adjustment for tall or short patrons and certainly not 5 star. But worse was to come, the wooden toilet seat was split at the front and an amateurish repair had been attempted using a brass bracket and two screws. On further investigation a large crack on the outside of the toilet pan was very evident.
We were told they couldn't fit us in at 7.30 for dinner but could at 8.00. We duly arrived at 7.55 to find the restaurant to be empty bar for two couples !!. No staff until a rather stern lady appeared behind us and asked us to take a seat in the lounge. It was here that they gave us "our KGB menu" which we perused whilst she brought our drinks.This perusing didn't take long because we had only one choice of starter, one choice of main & one choice of pudding !. We could however for an extra £17.50 each, choose from the table de hote. Most of these choices also had supplements £2.00 on this £3.00 on that. We both chose the KGB menu. I have to say it was very pleasant, served in the large conservatory type restaurant by attentive staff. One of the other couples left and about 8.30 a table for 4 arrived. Then the other couple left so at any one time only six people were in the restaurant but they couldn't fit us in at 7.30 ????. Coffee could be purchased at £3.99 per cup which we declined opting to get drinks from the bar and take these in the lounge. It was empty, not a soul. We enjoy our own company but this was ridiculous. We took our drinks to our room and watched the TV.
We had booked breakfast at 8am and dropped our glasses back in the bar on our way. Two members of staff behind the bar some 6ft away from me completely ignored my cheery "good morning" and looked at me like I had come down from Mars before disappearing through a doorway.
Breakfast was exceptional, a good choice of cereals and fruit with a superb hot cooked fry up but served in a cold atmosphere. No music, no other patrons !!.
This hotel has had the life sucked out of it and its staff. It needs revamping, whatever the owners are trying to achieve they have failed miserably. It is craving oxygen.
We checked out around 9am and when asked if I had enjoyed our stay, after first reserving judgement then when pressed I told her that it had been a massive disappointment. Quite ironically as we left a charming young lady by the name of Bianca asked if we needed help, safe journey etc. She alone deserves commendation and the rest of the staff and owners should look to her and try to be more human.
We have been very fortunate having traveled to many different countries over the years. This hotel stands out alone when I say we would never return.

Room Tip: Having only stayed in one of them I can only suggest that you don't stay in the one with the cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is a very good example of what can be done with a large private house by committed and dedicated owners, actively engaged in the running of the hotel.
Although parts of the building are reputedly Tudor, the overall impression is of a late Victorian Country House maintained to the highest standards with a well directed and motivated staff, keen to assist and make a stay enjoyable, with the elegance of a 1920s country house party.

The food is excellent and varied, if a little over-priced and the bedrooms have every necessary convenience, including a minibar.

We traveled on a Living Social deal but we would be easily persuaded to return here at full price, if the pension can be so organised!

The location up a long drive in its own gardens guarantees a lack of road noise and birdsong is the predominant sound.

The owners are justifiably proud of the hotel which they have created in the last 21 years and want to continue with improvements in the same manner. We hope to return to see how they are progressing.

Room Tip: The 2 standard rooms are so graded only because of the lack of view. Opt for luxury or de luxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We arrived in a downpour and looked fairly unkempt, but were warmly welcomed. We were shown to our room, and given time to explore before enjoying afternoon tea and a glass of rose, which was part of the Living Social deal.

Our room was large and comfortable - huge bed - and the bathroom was spotless and well appointed with a powerful shower system above the bath.

Our room was at the back of the hotel above the kitchen, so did not have the best view. And the bin men came early one morning! The location of the room meant though that we could get out into the grounds quickly from the fire escape without trailing through the hotel to look after our dogs!

There were several public rooms to relax in - lounge, library, sitting room, and small bar. (No real ale on hand-pump, but a nice local bottled beer!) Each room had quirky knick-knacks, interesting modern paintings, and objets d'art which made each room unique. The conservatory dining room was a lovely space looking out into the grounds. We ate from the daily market menu and found the food more than ample both in quantity and quality. There was a more extensive menu had we wanted to splash out, and the wine menu was mouth-watering although we stuck to the house sauvignon blanc which was excellent.

The extensive grounds were ideal for our purposes. Formal for sitting out - we were fortunate with the weather - and the woodland and rougher extremities gave opportunity for our dogs to stretch their legs.

All the staff that we met were personable, attentive and friendly. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. We shall try to get there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel this week and it was not for us!!! The hotel was completely dead of friendly atmosphere, so quiet it was unnerving, absolutely nothing to do around the Hotel in the daytime or evening, no guests around to talk to and we found ourselves in our room by 9.30pm after dinner watching TV! The smell of fresh orchards throughout the hotel was just overpowering. All rooms are different accordingly to what you pay so as we were on a Voucher deal our room was two floors up (no lift)at the very top of the hotel which we thought needed upgrading had basic t\coffee with yes "2" biscuits each wow! a fridge full of bar extras if you wanted.The bathroom had faulty plumbing so every time the toilet was used there must have been an air lock in the system as it made such a loud noise you had to run the water taps to stop it... embarrassing during the night... However the view from the bedroom window was really nice!.. We had phoned in advance due to our dietary needs and was assured it would be ok on the voucher costings..However we found we had to upgrade to the A la Carte menu if we wanted to eat any dinner to our dietary needs at an extra cost of £32.50. So! taking into account £25.00 each allowed for dinner we paid an extra £32.50 to upgrade totalling £82.50 for 2 wow! one having 3 courses and one have 2 courses with water on the table!. Yes we have to admit the food was very good but totally overpriced, plus if we wanted t\coffee after dinner it was an extra £3.50 each.so we had it in our room! Also beware of pricey bar drinks. We felt it was a case of lets charge the guests as there is no where else to eat in the surrounding area of the hotel.. Dont get us wrong we are willing to pay for good service and food but dont like being "ripped off" at every stage along the way..We have to say the breakfast was very nice and plenty and made up for some of the hotel's shortfalls. The gardens and forest are enormous with really lovely views but more could be done with flower beds and inviting areas to sit to enjoy the scenery...
If you want to hide away from the World in peace and solitude and dont mind paying for the privilege this is the place for you.. However if you want your hotel to be homely, inviting, friendly value for money this is not the place for you... sorry!!! ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 68SeniorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had booked this visit through Living Social and prior to arrival had paid for an upgrade transpired it was the Miller room which had a kingsize bed, balcony and two views from the windows as it's on a corner..The scones and cream were superb..
The hotel comprises lots of 'olde world' charm with fine furnishings and features..
The gardens are well kept and a a joy to walk round..
The dining room is well laid out and the food superb, the staff are very attentive and helpful..
To sum up, we would certainly revisit, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms, but would definately suggest the Miller room was worthwhile..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
24.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Property: Penmaenuchaf Hall
Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing