We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel”
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have recently spent a few days with some friends at this hotel on a package deal. We were disappointed with afternoon tea which should have been classed as a cream tea as it only consisted of scones jam and cream no sandwiches or cakes.Our rooms were supposed to have been upgraded to the luxury rooms. We have stayed in better rooms in cheaper none luxury hotels. The rooms shown on the hotel site had no resemblance to the ones we stayed in. The one room needed redecorating had damp on the walls and the carpet was past its best.The other room was tiny, the shower had a plastic head and was joined to the taps the toilet seat and toilet brush holder were cracked. In both rooms we had to unplug lights to plug in the kettles and then put them on the floor to boil. The biscuits we think were home made but were stale and not replaced the second day.The worst part of the break was the choice of food given in the package taking into account the restaurant status. We were offered one starter ie tomato soup one main course ie braised beef and one sweet ie fruit and ice cream. Have to say it was very tasty if you liked the choice. If we wanted to eat from a different menu it would have cost a further£17.50 pp which considering the price paid we were not willing to pay any more. The second day we were only booked b&b so after seeing the choice of one starter etc which none of us liked we decided to take a taxi to the local pub where we has fabulous food any plenty of it for half the price. We informed the receptionist on check out of our complaints but dont think she was bothered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank val t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staying with friends we were bowled over as soon as we walked through the front door and were met by a blazing fire and comfy sofas. The staff were warm and attentive, afternoon tea in the lounge was excellent as were dinner and breakfast next day. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well furnished. Quality comes at a price though, and in this case the price came via the bar and wine list which were both on the expensive side. But let's face it you get what you pay for. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejaybee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

my partner surprised me with an overnight stay for valentines day what a treat.From the warm welcome we received to the very luxurious room with a four poster bed, The food was excellent and the staff very friendly, what a wonderful way to spend valentines night can`t wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Lorraine and Mark. Everything about this hotel was superb. From the warm welcome by the glowing fire in the hallway to the wonderfully comfortable bedroom with a lovely view over the somewhat damp but well tended garden and woodland. The food is delicious,inventive and impressive, we certainly never felt hungry! For walkers and mountain bikers this a must go to hotel. The house itself has been beautifully adapted for hotel use. Sitting rooms with big squashy sofas, a tiny but well stocked bar and a dining room with a lovely view up to the woods and waterfalls. The staff were, almost uniquely in my experience, without exception helpful, friendly and very efficient. Lorraine and Mark are brilliant hosts. We will be back(when it is a bit warmer) and I thoroughly recommend this establishment.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, relax and eat. We visited the area to cycle the Dollgellau cycle trail to Barmouth and after a full day of cycling, it was wonderful to return to this lovely hotel.

The staff were very welcoming and our room was beautifully decorated and contained everything we needed. The evening started with canapes in the lounge whilst we pondered the wonderful menu and wine list followed by a lovely meal in the conservatory.

This hotel manages to balance real comfort and luxury without the stuffiness you can get in some upmarket establishments. It really is a little gem and well worth a visit any time of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in for 4 nights in total and we got married on Saturday 8th December here during our stay.
I have never wrote a review before but just thought this place truly was wonderful.
The service from all staff during our wedding day and throughout the rest of our stay was excellent, especially one of the owners Lorraine, who was always there to answer any query.
We also had a firework display on our wedding day, all done by the owners and it really was like a professional display, totally out weighed our expectations.
The rooms that myself and the rest of our family stayed in were excellent quality and i can't remember ever having such a goods nights sleep other than in my own bed !
We stayed in the Leigh-Taylor room a deluxe graded room, really was lovely with picture window seats and a huge bathroom.
The food also was excellent, the best in fact, couldn't fault a single thing.
We hope to return here many times, a big Thankyou to everyone at Penmaenuchaf for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

An elegant country house hotel and fine dining restaurant.
I've only been here to eat so far, though would likely return to stay in the hotel in the future. The food and dining experience was excellent, definitely in the fine dining category, with well crafted dishes well executed. The experience starts upon entering the old antique entrance hall, which boasts a wonderful old fireplace that is very welcoming in the winter months :-) Reception by the staff is warm and inviting, and the relaxed pre dinner drinks in one of a number of reception rooms, all elegantly furnished, help add to the experience. The dining room is a more modern extension but tastefully done.
Go here for fine dining experience or a weekend away on the Welsh coast, with plenty to do and visit locally - you should really be driving to get here and make the best of it. Also very good for an afternoon tea. Both the Chef and the Owner were present after dinner to talk about the experience, which is encouraging that they really seem to care about the quality.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
798 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,526 reviews
20.8 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range: $164 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing