We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful hotel that welcomes dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel that welcomes dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This beautiful country house is set in wonderful grounds. The rooms are sumptuous and comfortable, and although we had the doggy room, we did not feel that we were getting a lesser quality room.

The restaurant was delightful, wonderful food and wonderful service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    67
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
28
222
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Devon.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

For us this was the 2nd stay at the Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel. We also had a cream tea on another visit which we thoroughly recommend - add a glass of champagne for a real treat! This hotel is the definative country house hotel. You will enjoy superb food in the dramatic conservatory, and a first class breakfast before you leave. Rooms and bathrooms are superb - faultless - and the standard of housekeeping is utterly amazing. All credit must go to the unseen staff who keep this hotel so immaculate. Beds turned back while you eat / chocolates on the pillows - bliss!! This hotel cannot be bettered - its our favourite - we shall be back. In our opinion, and on the basis of 2 overnight stays, we belive the Penmaenuchaf Hall will suit all!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a special hotel in a special location. Peace and serenity in abundance. Food, service, room, ambience superb.

Room Tip: If you go on a standard tarriff I believe there are only two rooms - request room called 'Parry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I really like this hotel. But I can see why some others don't. It is a country house hotel which achieves that difficult balance between being over-preened and precious on the one hand or trying to fake an Edwardian house party on the other. Its comfortably and tastefully furnished but with no pretensions to grandeur, though those who object to the family photos here and there obviously differ.. The staff are lovely and helpful. They are local and while you won’t find them the slickest and most experienced they are unfailingly friendly and helpful and I know which I’d rather have. It’s also still an owner-managed establishment with the owners on site but not instrusive.
No worries about being kept awake by passing traffic here. You wiggle up to this former cotton magnate’s country retreat via some winding bends and find yourself outside a classic Victorian grey stone mansion. Stepping through the porch you immediately see that someone has gone to some lengths to make the place feel relaxed, warm and welcoming, but impressive too.
Look out for the curiously proportioned newel post finials as you go up to your room. Ours was spacious and comfortable. The view was poor – onto roof spaces between other parts of the building, so if this is important to you then you may wish to mention it when you book. Some rooms have small balconies.
Breakfast is served off the dining room and gives you a choice of continental or cooked. It’s the kind of place where you can order brown sauce with your bacon, as a fellow resident did to my horror but (quite rightly) without getting a sniffy reaction from the staff. Your newspaper, if you ordered one, will be waiting for you on the way in. All very civilised. Not cheap though, at £20+ for cooked if it’s not already in your room rate (it usually is) and you may find the staff a bit too cheery if you punished the wine list the night before. It’s lovely when a hotel still cooks breakfast to order, including toast, though I did not like the pork and leek sausages (the only kind offered rather oddly). And one kind of preserve – a rather disappointing marmalade comprised of thin slivers of peel floating in a sickly runny syrup. Sadly I suspect it was lovingly and locally made, but that does not make it good. To be fair they would probably bring you something else if you asked for it. Decent local bacon and they poach eggs properly.
Despite those quibbles, they take their food and wine quite seriously here, and you can dine in a slate-floored conservatory which works out of season and must be lovely in summer (the grounds are extensive and worth a stroll). I have reviewed separately. The adjacent 30’ square drawing room has a wood burning stove and several clusters of sofas where your order will be taken before dinner, drinks and complimentary amuse-bouches provided; later you can come back for coffee and whatever else you’d like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel and were quickly shown our room "Price". The room was spacious, very nicely decorated and being on the 2nd floor had fabulous views on two sides of the garden, estuary and mountains. The hotel gives the impression of staying in a family home, with photographs scattered throughout - it seems this is not to everyone's taste, but it certainly didn't detract from our stay in any way.

Our room was very modern with flat screen TV, ipod docking station and a music centre. There was a mini bar in the room, which we didn't use so I am unable to comment on its content/prices - but there was plenty of tea/coffee and home made cookies supplied. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and bath robes for our use. Our bed was "turned down" and soft music left playing whilst we were at dinner - I was amazed that our bed had been made the following morning whilst we were at breakfast, given that we were only staying for the one night!

We had originally booked a dinner reservation but changed our mind and asked to eat earlier - this was absolutely no problem at all! Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the wine list was very extensive and reasonably priced. Breakfast was cooked freshly to order in the morning. Everyone we encountered in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful.

We booked on a DB&B basis through Welsh Rarebits and whilst I would agree that it is probably more than we would normally spend on a hotel for a single night, I still felt I had received value for money. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Tranquility peace and lovely views great food, service wonderful,a sleep of contentment in a garden in Wales .there are good hotels this is a excellent hotel.A secret hideaway in lovely landscaped gardens,a place to linger awhile with smiling staff who obviously enjoy working there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hotel was gorgeous looking from the outside so we were very disappointed with the interior!, Awful plastic lilies along with 'family' photographs scattered everywhere!!!. Our bedroom was old fashioned and dimly lit. The bedding was HORRENDOUS!!.-old fashioned bedspreads with VERY DAMP SHEETS. We spoke to another couple who were staying there at the same time and they were convinced that their bed didn't have clean sheets!!.. The tea/coffee facilities were a joke as was the minibar. The heating was on which made the room stifling and quite unbearable!!.Who in their right mind would put the heating on on what was a VERY hot summer's day!.The view from the room was not what we expected either!!.

STAFF-Restaurant staff were friendly unlike the Manager and the receptionist!!. We have never met such rude proprietors!!, Considering the price of a night's stay the welcome and service that we had was totally UNACCEPTABLE!. We had considered staying longer before our arrival but one night was more than enough!.

The hotel is in need of major re-decoration, I would suggest that they employ an interior designer to do this and not rely on their tastes!. The bar is far too small and EXPENSIVE!. We overheard some staff talking and their language was atrocious!!-not a good advertisement!!. The area that the hotel is situated in is stunning. We will be going back but NOT to this hotel!!!. OVERPIRCED, OLD FASHIONED and UNFRIENDLY PROPRIETORS.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BETTY201112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Property: Penmaenuchaf Hall
Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing