We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cefn Coed

Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen Inglenook Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Cefn Coed Bunkhouse
Kitchen
Inglenook Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wheresmeg...
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here on my stag weekend with 7 mates. Perfectly secluded meaning we could sit round the campfire and be as noisy as we wanted, disturbing no one. And when it got too cold we retreated into the cosy bunkhouse. All the facilities in the bunkhouse were spot on, and looked like it would comfortably accomodate a full house. The whole site is a bit of a work in progress, and we were a little apprehensive on our approach, but you can tell this place will be a massive hit when all the work is done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slightly unsightly work in progress.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f d
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastical”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I wasn't sure what to expect heading to the bunk house, as it looked like a small cottage and we were a large group of lads. I was very pleasantly surprised. The cottage is absolutely fantastic, didn't feel small when we were inside. the place is warm clean and very comfortable, the location is lovely, just a short walk down through the woods down to the estuary. A short drive and we were fly fishing and climbing hills, even with the spring weather. Karen made us feel very welcome, you hardly noticed her presence except for the animal feeding in the morning. Had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it to small and large groups of people!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Has to be the location tucked away in the woods in the valley
Liked least: train access from hollyhead
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheona R
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bunkhouse we'd stayed in- Comfortable, Cosy and Clean”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us stayed in the bunkhouse for just one night this November. Adrian had put the heating on in advance for our arrival and provided us with coal and wood for the fire.
It was very cosy and comfortable with peaceful surroundings.
We arrived at night so it wasn't as easy to find in the dark (but our sat nav led us there fine!) The bunkhouse was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The underfloor heating in the bedroom was lovely too!
We all agreed, it was the best bunkhouse we had stayed in over our 4 day trip.
Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness and cleanliness
Liked least: There isn't really anything negative to say - for our experience
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanhele...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful secluded place in woodlands.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Caravan not the bunkhouse. It was clean,tidy and well equipped
Quiet and secluded. Adrian's place is a work in progress. So, though there is a good parking area there is still building work being done and all that brings.
The woodland is wonderful with lots of walks. The paths go to the estuary where you can walk or bike. It is in walking distance of Cader Idris, Fairbourne and Dolgellau.
We will return with more people so we can stay in the bunkhouse which looks really comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a weekend adventure!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 9 of us stayed at Cefn Coed with some of us competing in the annual Race the Train event in Tywyn. Getting to the bunkhouse from Morfa Mawddach the nearest rail station is a 4 good mile walk but we had some decent instructions from Adrian. There is limited reception in the area so it pays to be prepared with a map.

The Cefn Coed is in a quiet area off the track and we were greeted by some friendly chickens, geese and a lovely dog called Holly. The bunkhouse has a decent, well equiped kitchen which was great for cooking in to feed a large bunch of people. The bunks are fine and having bedding saved us carrying sleeping gear.

Adrian was very friendly and helpful in providing information and activities in the area and recommending a good taxi service to the race. The weekend involved a fair bit of walking but it paid off to see the lovely seaside town of Barmouth and check out the blue lagoon in the old Goleuwern Slate Quarry.

Great accommodation and location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Memorable, fun, chilled out, bonfires, shooting stars, Barmouth, beautiful estuary!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay. Our hosts were really friendly and chilled out .... appraciated when travelling with young people. We had memorable trip which the young people lived to the fullest! Loved being right near the estuary and on the cycle path. Great day cycling to Barmouth ... Barmouth was a real hit due to beach, swimming, dodgems, burgers, shops ... Trips to LLechwedd, Harlech Castle, Bird Rock, Blue Lake and a great night of music at the Last Inn. Other favourites were bonfires and sitting for hours watching shooting stars. In gratitude from Jenny and The Big City Club.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Some difficulty contacting host
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill36
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay in a fantastic location”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The lower floor has a very well equipped kitchen and very comfortable seating area with easy chairs for 7, but with plenty of floor space. Our party was only six, so plenty of room. This is advertised as a bunkhouse, so the bedroom accommodation was basic and not spacious, although certainly adequate. There is only one toilet/shower, but 3 of the bedrooms have sinks and there are plans for a toilet block just outside for the chalets. The farm animals (ducks, geese, hens, pigs) were a source of much interest, especially the very young chicks, ducklings and piglets. The other reason we will go back is that it is an easy 10 minute walk down to the Mawddach Estuary, which was magical in the sunshine. There is also a 2km circular walk through the woods, with good views, just beind the house. Adrian was very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Downstairs living area; remote location; friendly host
Liked least: I would not like to share the bathroom with 11 others! Luckily, we were only 6.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing