We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat to relax and recuperate”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Arthfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat to relax and recuperate”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love staying at Arthfan!
The cottage is in an idyllic location, in a peaceful and tranquil haven with amazing walks straight from the property.
The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped. The hospitality pack was very much appreciated and the owner always kind and hospitable.
The garden is safe and secure for both dogs and children, with amazing views of Cader, surrounding farmland and abundant wildlife.
As always we cannot wait to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF2012201...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed March 10, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have holidayed at Arthfan every autumn for the last 5 years and adore the cottage. We are a family of three (2 adults, and a child) from Hampshire.
Set at the foot of the imposing Cader Idris, with walks from the front door, Arthfan is a dog owner and a walker's dream. It is truly a fantastic location!!! Unbeatable views. It is also a bird watcher's paradise.
We have always brought dogs and they have the best week of their year there (garden fully enclosed). Our daughter also loves playing in the vast garden. Perfect for dogs and children. And on a nice day, the whole family can sit outside and enjoy the views.
The cottage is clean, and has everything you need (fridge, freezer, dishwasher, TV, DVD player, Wifi). You just need to bring your own towels (and hair-dryer!).
The shower is 'cosy' (FYI-My husband and I are both 6 foot)- but we put this down to a bit of holiday charm, making it an authentic cottage experience .
Location-wise it is perfect. Plenty of walks from the door step (Cader Idris etc).
Steam trains are very close, beaches a short drive, and some mouth watering pubs/restaurants all nearby.
The nearest town Dolgellau is full of charm and a very short drive away. It has plenty of shops, a pharmacy, tea-rooms, restaurants etc.
Any questions/problems can be sorted by the owner who lives round the corner, and who is always accommodating and welcoming.
Long may we continue to holiday here!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The property was filthy and unkempt. Everything was tired, cutlery was tarnished, mugs chipped and barely sufficient for 4 guests. If you were taller than 5 feet don't go upstairs as there is not enough headroom, due to low roof beams. Again impossible to take a shower due to height and beam restrictions. Signs in bathroom warning you that the water supply was unfit for human consumption??
the renting agents have not taken our complaint on board in fact trying to contact them was a work of art !!.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF2012201...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Cottage even nicer than advertised. 2 other holiday cottages nearby, but do not overlook this property and it is completely detached.
We stayed for a week with our 2 dogs and our daughter who is 3.
Spacious lounge and kitchen - equipped with dishwasher. Plenty of washing up liquid, handwash, and dishwasher tablets etc. Nice not to have to buy( we these things.
Garden is well fenced for the dogs and very interesting with different levels. etc. They call it medium sized garden, to us it was large !
Fields all around the property have paths so walking on the doorstep, but keep dogs on lead if sheep grazing.
Great for exploring this part of Wales - Dogellau and shops very close ; lots of steam trains nearby ; fantastic beaches not far ( Barmouth Bay for example ). Cader Idris ( the Pony Trail ) is very close, and a great walk.
A great holiday - we would recommend to friends, and definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great garden for the dogs & for active toddler
Liked least: the rain we had a couple of days!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing