We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paying for the view, not the food quality. Rip off?!”

George III Hotel Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The George III Hotel is an historic Inn set on the banks of the magnificent Mawddach Estuary. Originally built in 1650 the hotel now offers comfortable rooms and home cooked food to locals and guests alike who all come to enjoy great home cooked classics in a relaxed atmosphere with stunning views. All of our food is cooked on site and so during busy times there can be a delay. We use a wide range of local produce from award winning local suppliers to provide tasty, comforting classic dishes. We are proud to be in the 2017 Good Beer Guide and so you can always be confident of a cracking pint or real ale here. We are always happy to help so if you have any questions or would like to make a booking please do not hesitate to contact us.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paying for the view, not the food quality. Rip off?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I wasn't happy about the prices for the food. The food options given aren't particularly special but have an extraordinary charge.
Don't get me wrong, the situation of this place is spectacular and with it being the only place to eat in miles they're obviously going to have a pricey menu. However I believe the prices are taking the mickey.
I visited with family members for a late lunch/early tea. We wanted to sit outside with the outstanding views, but the weather began to turn. It was just as cool inside the building as sitting outside.
The food was tasty but nothing to rave about. If I am paying for a £14.00 meal (like their pie and chips) I expect homemade chips as minimum - not a batch of frozen chips.
I opted for a starter and side as I felt outraged at the main meal prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyDaydream2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    102
    87
    47
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have been here many times over the years. We only had coffee. It was delicious. The menu looked good. The staff friendly and courteous. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable food. Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The service was very slow in the Cellar Bar. The food was reasonable, but nothing to rave about. We ate there on a couple of occasions and on the second there were several things on the menu that weren't available, leaving a lot of customers having to find alternatives. The barmen was a bit miserable and took a long time to serve people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pause for the view and move on .....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here twice during our recent holiday as the views are to die for. What a beautiful spot! We will return especially as it sits on the stunning cycle path from Bar mouth to Dolgellau. But we won't be using the hotel again even for coffee. The staff seem more interested in chatting amongst themselves rather than serving customers or keeping the place tidy. What a pity. Such a beautiful location deserves better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have stayed in thi part of Wales many times and both stayed at and eaten at this venue . It was a family meal for 5 of us on the first day of our holiday . Out of the 5 meals 2 were very nice , 1 indifferent and 2 poor , one needing to be sent back . A bad meal can be forgiven , however what spoils the dining experience is having to wait nearly an hour for a meal with no apology , staff rudeness and general shocking customer service all of which we encountered .There was no apology for the meal being up to standard in fact the opposite , the waitress was very rude , the evening was ruined and we couldnt wait to leave . Its a shame because its a lovely venue but we will not be returning .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George III Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to George III Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing