We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect base for walking”
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect base for walking”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In the UK i am always a bit wary of hotels with "character" or "historic" as it often means that they are sadly in need of a makeover.
We booked this hotel as it was perfectly placed for hill walking and i loved the hotel just as it is.
Its seeping with atmosphere and the various cosy bars and public rooms all encourage chat with other guests and other walkers who pop in after their walks.
The fixed timing of breakfast and evening meal actually help everyone to mix and make the rooms lively.
The staff who are mainly foreign are all exceptionally friendly and helpfull and any request is quickly answered.
Food was very good tho by third day the main courses seemed to be repeating.
Loved the desserts.
Our ensuite room comfortable tho the shower in the bath not very usable so used other shower room and victorian bath -the latter brilliant after a long walk.
Really good selection of locally brewed beers was the icing on the cake.
Internet access is available for a small charge.

Room Tip: wifi reception in bedrooms close to games room..we were above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidPik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    65
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
62
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was visiting this hotel with my family after a fifty-year absence, and was delighted to find its great qualities unchanged: the awe-inspiring sense of history provided by the signatures and memorabilia from Sir Edmund Hilary's Everest expedition, the spectacular and unspoilt situation in the heart of Snowdonia, and the friendly and helpful staff. The comfortable garden room was a pleasant discovery, and the food was much improved from my earlier visit. We loved the unfussy authenticity, even down to the old silver teapots, pepper pots and salt shakers! The variety of bar and lounge spaces give plenty of opportunities for chatting with fellow hikers over a pint, or for reading quietly on one's own. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Everything about our one night stay was wonderful. We loved the mountaineering history of the hotel but it is much more than that. We had The Garden Room in the annexe. It was newly refurbished and immaculate. The bed was an antique four poster,very comfortable, and facing a window with amazing views. The bathroom was modern and spotless with a huge bath.
Dinner was a delicious 3 or 5 course meal, beautifully presented and cooked. We took coffee in the Residents Lounge which had a real fire,lots of books and cosy sofas. The alternative would have been one of several bars-all lively and filled with conversation and laughter.
The staff were professional and friendly and the proprietor mingled with guests and was on hand to see that any requests were met.
No tea tray? No but a tray was brought at a pre requested time in the morning. No TV? No but the glory of Snowdonia outside every window.
We loved every minute and will return as often as we can.

Room Tip: We recommend the Garden Room but heard other guests speak highly of their accommodation. Not all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel thats a relic of a bygone age.

The food is fabulous, the hotel is full of charm and you will remember your experience here.

Its unlikely youd stay here expecting a plasma TV in the bedroom, its a nice place to go to just have a conversation with people. We sat around in the lounge and just chatted to a variety of people who came in to stay the weekend.

Great friendly staff and the evening meal was VERY tasty indeed, the finest Lamb Ive had in ages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnehsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our second walking/climbing visit to this national treasure in Snowden
this has to be one of my favorite hotels steeped in climbing history.
Good wholesome food and a very well priced wine list.
Staff are very welcoming

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charless394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The whole experience is a step away from the modern world. I mean that in a good way. the hotel is run how the hotel has always been run. You will either love or hate it. if your idea of an experience is knowing what to expect i.e the modern budget hotel experience than this place may not be for you. if however you like good service on a personnel level and a surprise round every corner stay here. i felt more like staying with friends than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmckmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

OK, this place will not be for everyone, but was most definitely for us. Step back in time to a different age, where breakfast and dinner are served at a set time announced by a gong, where there is no mobile phone reception, no TV or radio and only wifi in the northern part of the building. Tea and coffee are served in the lounge after the evening meal. The food is good, old-fashioned British food done well. The rooms are comfortable but not all are en suite, but this matters little as you end up using an amazing Victorian bath well worth the experience. The pub part of the hotel is special - a shrine to the Everest expeditions who used to stay there while training in Snowdonia. The bar rooms a quirky and the beer is from the Porthmadog Purple Moose brewery - excellent traditional bitter. The staff are uniformly polite, helpful and excellent with an attention to detail and old-fashioned service that modern hotels fail to match. We really did not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald_Henson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
5.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Property: Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Address: 4086 Junction of A498 and A | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing