We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxed campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great relaxed campsite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

July 2013, Perfect relaxed site, pitch where ever you choose which was great for us, as we were in a group of six tents and formed a circle. Fire pits available free of charge but you must buy the wood from the camp which isn't a problem. The guys and girls who run the site were very friendly and they run it very well, a quiet time policy is in place from 11pm and they walk amongst the campers reminding them that it is quiet time.Beautiful surroundings, and the view across the lake is breath taking. My only gripe would be the Loos, not too many of them compared to the size of the camp, and the showers, you need to be up early to avoid the Q! Piping hot water and at 6am they were empty, so I had a very enjoyable shower with the birds that live in the roof space! Great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    70
    27
    12
    12
See reviews for
84
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed with a friend whilst attempting Mount Snowden.

The site is very funtionable with a tidy toilet block. It was cheap at £8 each per night.

However, the noisy field of Cub-Scouts next to us and the no music ever on top of the no noise after 11pm rules kindof took the shine off the site.

Fire pits, If you can find them, are provided however the wood which they provide at a price was not the best burning Pine as it burnt like it had just been cut down and chucked in the bag.

All in all not a bad site, it was what me and my friend called a "safe site" very family orientated rather than back to basics camping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caernarfon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We hired the barns at Nant Gwynant campsite for a wedding. The facilities were basic and on the day we found there were mice running around the kitchen which meant we had to have someone in there all through the day and evening to ensure the mice didn't go on the food. The owner was very rude to us and dismissive of the reporting of vermin saying they had traps under the sink. Because it was so basic we had to hire everything in, right down to the tables, chairs and even teaspoons. In hindsight it would have been better to go to a hotel. The scenery is wonderful but the rudeness of the owner and the fact that we had to get out by 11 o'clock in the morning or hire the facilities for an extra day just to clear up made it, in hindsight a really bad choice for a wedding venue. The midges are vicious. The toilets were very poor and if you wanted more than 3 you had to hire portaloos.

Room Tip: Use the campsite if you must stay there as the barns are infested with mice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welshgirlCaernarfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just turned up and camped - great! Had a fabulous two-night stay, climbing the peak in a circular walk from the site with my two young sons. Friendly, helpful staff. Great swimming and canoeing on the lake - an unexpected bonus. Ideally placed and well priced.

Room Tip: We camped in the late arrivals section close to the entrance. While this was great for convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voseneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The campsite itself is in a lovely setting and is perfect if you fancy going hiking in the area or up Snowdon as its literally a stones throw away. However for £9 per person per night I think it's too expensive for what you get- rubbish facilities that are nowhere near big enough for the campsite with one indoor shower and the rest outside which were filthy. Had to queue for a shower and that was at 7:15am. By 8:00am a friend I was camping with said the showers were freezing! The sanitary disposal bins were overflowing at one point and on the Sunday there wasn't any toilet roll. The campsite has limited washing up sites and we had to queue to do that. I don't expect 5* when camping but when you think how much it costs per person per night in a tent there are no excuses for any if the above! I am sure there are much better places to stay within the local area and probably for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now to walk the mountains and what a beautiful location this campsite is at.
Being able to have bbqs and a real fire really does make this place even more special. Its great that there is no mobile phone signal too...but there is a pay phone. One thing that niggles me is the cleanliness of the shower/toilet area. This area is such a let down for a great place. The 3 times i have stayed here ive never seen it being checked/cleaned!. The ladies is not very good...theres a bird nest within the roof which is open...cobwebs that looked to of been there for years. Bird poo dropping at times too. I know it would help if ppl just cleaned up after themselfs and think of others using these facilities. This is the only thing that needs to be looked at as its terrible. The staff are very helpfull and the price is good too. Worth a stay for sure....just hope the cleanliness improves :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank L916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Decided to use this site as one of our stops whilst touring North Wales. Arrived early on the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend and drove straight in. Probably a better site for a tent than a campervan as vans have to stay in bays alongside a row of parked cars. Views are fantastic as is the lake and river that runs through. Our eldest daughter loved swimming in both.
Gets a little midgey in the evening but nothing like Scotland. For the amount of people staying it was very peaceful in the evenings and we all slept well.
The pizza company that pull up each evening (peak season) are really good quality made in front of you. The shop sells a few basic bits, bread, milk, chocolate, marsh mallows etc so ensure you take supplies. Nearest shop a few miles south.

Will be using this site again but probably before the school holidays. My only gripe is I feel they let a few too many in. Slightly less campers would put a little less strain on showers & wc's etc that we had to queue for.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a good spot beside the river or lake. Shower at daft times as morning and eveni...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrNHNailsworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nant Gwynant
4.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
9.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.0 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llyn Gwynant Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Property: Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Address: Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nant Gwynant
Also Known As:
Llyn Gwynant Campsite Hotel Nant Gwynant
Llyn Gwynant Campsite Nant Gwynant, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing