We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect with amazing views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
swift-sim...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Perfect with amazing views”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an amazing cottage that has wonderful views from every window and door. It is away from any other houses down a pretty, narrow lane. The views are over the farmland with sheep and their lambs as well as over the surrounding countryside.
In the evening we could even watch the sunset from the sitting room windows which was amazing and beautiful. It is very peaceful with the occasional vehicle going past.

We really enjoyed the peace and quiet here and the fact that the cottage was so well equipped for a great stay. When we walked in we were met with a welcome tray with Welsh cider, Welsh beer, Kettle crisps and some Welsh cakes. There was also a vase of carnations on the table. The other useful thing was a cupboard with tea, sugar, flour, spices and oil that was very useful too. There was also hand soap and cleaning items if you needed them and bubble bath in the bathroom. The log basket was full for the log burner and also kindling and paper. While we were there it was too warm to use the wood burner.

The fridge has a small freezer compartment which is great for icecreams etc. The cooker is easy to use and has a full oven. It is a very warm cottage and has under floor heating down stairs and radiators upstairs.

In the lawned garden with wonderful views over the farm land there was a patio area with table chairs and sun loungers ,At the top of the garden was a building with a washing machine ,tumble drier , sink, logs and kindling.

It was very well equipped with all you needed as well as hairdrier too. It is a delightful cottage to stay in and we really enjoyed our stay there. It is perfectly situated for exploring Gloucestershire, Monmothshire and Herofordshire.

The bed was very comfortable and with three windows in the bedroom it had wonderful views too. The bathroom had views also over the fields too .

One thing that was so useful was a basket filled with leaflets and some guide book of the local area and some maps which really helped to plan days out while we were there. There were also books to read and DVD's too if you needed them. The mobile phone signal was a little variable but by moving around the room or going into the garden you could get signal. Ther is a landline phone in the cottage if needed.

While we were there we had wonderful sunny warm weather so visited a lot of castles, and houses there are, National Trust, English heritage and Welsh Cadw properties as well as others too.

Some of the places we enjoyed were Usk castle ( a gem in a garden), Raglan castle, Chepstow castle, Grosmont castle, Skenfrith castle, White Castle, Tretower court and castle, Tredegar house , the Kymin and Clearwell caves too name a few amazing places.

If you go into Monmouth it is worth seeing the Monow bridge and also to visit Pasty Heaven a wonderful shop in an alley on the way up from the Momow bridge on the left hand side. Their pasties are very tasty.

For food shopping we used the Lidle at Monmouth which was close by.

The parking is in the garden with a 5 bar gate across the drive in to the property.

We would certainly recommend this delightful property if you can book it , as it is very popular and rightly so. It is one of the best holiday rentals that we have stayed at.

If you visit the Cadw properties you can get a three day pass which saves you money. We did not discover this until we had visited several properties!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston05
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas!”
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had another superb Christmas break in this beautiful cottage. Such a lovely place to spend Christmas and the bonus was...it snowed.

If you like a remote location, this is the place to stay. It didn't bother us there was no WiFi. It's nice to turn the mobile off, enjoy the silence, the superb views, the walks and to just sit and chat and chill out.

We are now looking to book our next trip in the spring/summer. It will be nice to open the patio doors and enjoy nature at its best. Can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A heavenly hideaway! - we visited twice and have booked again for next year!”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This beautiful little cottage is possibly our very favourite place to go when we want to unwind. When you're at work and it's stress, stress, stress, everyday, you can forget all that when you come here.

Whilst most people decide to go off touring and seeing the local sights, we literally stayed here at the cottage all week and did as little as possible. The settings are just superb, hidden away down a tiny country lane out of the way of everyone and overlooked by no one. We didn't see a soul all week and we loved it!

So what do you do if you're not going out sightseeing? We took leisurely walks with the dog, sat out in the garden, read books, listened to classical music and just completely relaxed and switched off. This cottage really is a breath of fresh air and considering that I am someone who doesn't sleep well and wakes up in the morning feeling tired and achy, I can truly say that here, I woke up in the morning after the best night's sleep ever, feeling refreshed.

We love this place so much following our first visit in October 2016, that we subsequently visited again in June 2017 and we have two weeks booked here in 2018. We simply cannot recommend this place highly enough if you're looking for somewhere to wind down, switch off from the world and get away from everyone.

In addition to that, you have beautiful surroundings and a full view down the valley and across to the Welsh mountains. June brings the beautiful summer flowers and in October, the nightshade and yew berries as well as beechnuts and beautiful autumn leaves just cover the lane. There's always lots of nature around and about, we've seen hares, pheasants and various birds in the garden.

At nighttime, you have perfect peace and quiet, not a sound and no light pollution, you can sit out and see thousands of stars. And even if the weather is varied, which it was when we stayed, it doesn't spoil the beauty and tranquility of this cottage.

The cottage itself has an open plan kitchen, dining and sitting area, complete with dining table, settee, woodburner, TV and DVD player. You are welcomed with a basket in the kitchen which contains various goodies, upon your arrival. You look out upon fields and beautiful countryside as you eat your breakfast and then you can open the doors into the patio area where you'll find chairs and a table and even a lantern if you wish to stay out after dark.

The washing machine and dryer and logs for the woodburner are located in a shed conveniently situated just a few feet away at the top of the garden. We didn't use the woodburner however, even in October, we were perfectly warm enough with the underfloor heating which is another little luxury of this cottage.

Upstairs you have the bathroom which is thoughtfully laid out and spacious and then the lovely little bedroom and in summer you can have the bedroom window open to let the breeze flow through. So all in all, we absolutely love this place, so much so that although we very highly recommend it, we don't want to because we want to very selfishly keep it all to ourselves! ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evonovich
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, stunning area”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A truly beautiful and comfortable cottage, everything you need is provided, very well equipped, I would not hesitate to return or to recommend anyone to go here. The area is totally stunning, having breakfast in the garden with just the sheep for company, what could be better

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les S
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here over new year and we couldn't of been happier, a quiet little cottage situated away from anything.

Upon arrival, there was a lovely little hamper of cider and crisps (always a winner in my eyes!). The layout out is small but perfect for the two of us and our little dog, who adored the log fire.

Only a short walk takes you to the woods which is so so peaceful.

The only reason I didn't score a 5 - the shower. I'm 5ft 7ish and I was a few inches from my head touching the ceiling. The issue I had was the shower (a very good shower I must add) is at the "non-tap" end and your unable to really get underneath it without performing some impressive yoga move.

I always ask myself - would I go back again? I would have to say yes. Lovely cottage, well equipped and perfect surroundings. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing