We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only been for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stonemill

The Stonemill
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Only been for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say just excellent except the table location, it was a set menu consisting of three courses with lots of choice in each course. The service was good, the food was very good and the place is quite unique. The only negative is was our table was by the door to the loo's so I'd suggest that it's either moved slightly or taken away as its just not nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    55
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chepstow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely location, lovely welcome, lovely food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wanted somewhere differant to go for lunch, just the 2 of us, had a search on trip adviser and found the stonemill restaurant and thought we would try it. The suroundings were fab, we were made to feel really welcome, the restaurants decor is classy rustic. Food was great, excellant value for money, would recommend to all, we are going back soon for an evening meal. A hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and food. Great value money!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Met a friend for lunch here today, it was lovely and quiet, we had a beautiful spot outside in the garden. Such a beautiful location. Staff very friendly and helpful (guy gave me step by step directions to venue when I rang to book a table) the food was amazing, goats cheese bruschetta beautiful and the chicken lovely, potato a bit hard and beautifully cooked greens!! Good value £15.95 for 3 course. Shame didn't live closer as could have sat all day drinking spritzers!! Def worth a visit. Enjoy x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT VENUE ~ WHAT A FIND ~”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Attended a wedding reception at this venue, although only 20 miles from where we live never heard of it. Well what a find. Venue, Staff and food excellent. Could not put any faults to anything, even the loo is tops.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbergavennyStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to do lunch”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We met up with friends from Wales to catch up and swap news. The Stonemill is very relaxing with good service and a terrific lunchtime set menu, which was good value at £15.95 for three courses. Will definitely go back. Try the cheeseboard. The pecan pie with clotted cream was a winner with my wife.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonemill also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Stonemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing