We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely meal.”
Review of The Stonemill

The Stonemill
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We eat here regularly and it's always lovely. Food on the set menu is excellent and menu is well thought out. House wines are good and very reasonably priced. Staff are always friendly and very polite. In all, a great evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    55
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun eating”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We and eight others recently enjoyed an evening at the Stonemill. The barn is gorgeous, the atmosphere enticing, the service welcoming, and we were not to be disappointed by the food. A young vibrant staff served us the Menu d,hote and did well. The choice of four mains included succulent steaks, tasty pigeon breasts, and flavoursome fish, so nobody reported any disappointment. Wines from £14.95 were fine, both red (lovely pinot noir) and white (piquant sauvignon). Desserts again were innovative (interesting sorbets, ice creams and tarts, all very fine. Quantities were quite adequate although last we went they were a bit too 'nouveau. Altogether a really good evening out for under £30 a head, all in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We ate at the Stonemill recently while on holiday. The food was excellent - my fillet steak was as good as I've ever had. Service was good with nice touches such as unexpected canapes.

We ate off both al a carte and set menus and both were equally good.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ravioli from heaven.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got lost trying to find the restaurant and advise you get directions before you set off. Our phone was almost useless to provide location as there was no signal at all. We arrived late but the staff were charming and explained the local authority prevents them from putting up signs...
It was a very hot day and we opted to have our lunch out on the terrace. The view over the valley is lovely. There are steps up into and inside the restaurant so perhaps not good for wheelchair users though they do have disabled spaces right by the restaurant (there was a bus taking up these spaces when we arrived).
I started with smoked salmon over a bed of crushed new potatoes and husband had a selection of Italian cured meat and sausage. Both were good, not memorable but good. We both had the asparagus ravioli, not something we would normally order but as the weather was so hot the other options seemed a little heavy. It was super! 9 1/2 out of ten. We both had a side salad. My husband had cheesecake for a pudding, I was full. He gave the cheesecake 8/10, it was very prettily presented with edible violet petals and a string of coulis. I had a bottle of med dry Welsh cider and husband a Peroni, we finished with a tea and a coffee. The bill was about £45 without service. We will go back.
Both our waitresses were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteppesFarm, Public Relations Manager at The Stonemill, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Many thanks for the review. We would like to point out that wheel chair access can be found at the bottom of the restaurant. Our staff are always happy to help with any queries relating to disability as this is something we consider to be of paramount importance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was at least our fifth visit to this restaurant. This trip was for our wedding anniverary.A lovely stone building awaits you on arrival. We sat in the bar area while we chose our meals. A slate with canapes was placed in front of us which was a lovely touch. You can chose between a set menu or a more extensive menu. While sitting at our table we were giving an amuse bouche before our starters arrived.Hot breadrolls were also served with dipping sauces. The food that was placed before us was of a very high standard.My wife had the goats cheese with a tangy salad was followed by a generous portion of hake on samphire and crushed new potatoes. For starters I had the roasted king scallops which were divine and followed this with the lamb which was servied with dupinoise potates and a side dish of seasonal vegetables.I did feel ttah this was on the small side for the price but the flavours great. We did have to ask for our desserts, which we had to rush due to our taxi arriving. We had the cheese platter with various types of cheeses which were unusual and something that we do not have at home. We would highly recommend this venue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grafions57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonemill also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Stonemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing