We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever.”
Review of The Stonemill

The Stonemill
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever.”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Once again the food, service and staff were excellent. If you want that little bit special meal then go here. We've not been disappointed and have visited on numerous occasions.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladylee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    58
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caldicot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local food and great service at a great restaurant.”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My parents and I had lunch in your restaurant today and I'm afraid it wasn't good. It was absolutely BRILLIANT. The restaurant is set in a beautiful mill building in stunning countryside. The welcome was very warm and friendly. My mother had the goat's cheese starter and loved it. My father and I had the ham hock terrine which was flavoured with just the correct amount of parsley. The piccalilli accompanying it was nice and mild and not too harsh. I would have loved a jar to take away with me. For our main courses my mother had the cod which she said was cooked perfectly and served with good crushed potatoes and a tasty sauce. My father and I again had the same dish, the stuffed breast of lamb. We both agreed that the lamb and the stuffing was full of flavour but couldn't quite place it until I asked the waitress who told me it was f aggot stuffing. Beautiful. The accompanying mash, parsnips and jus were all beautiful and full of flavour. Then on to dessert. I had the date and pecan pudding which was soft, sticky and sublime and well complimented by the scoop of clotted cream. My father had the assortment of ice-creams which he said were beautiful and could tell that they were all home made. My mother had the rice pudding and lemon posset and was still talking about it on the way home to Caldicot. Three courses and a glass of wine each for £60. Great value. You have a great restaurant serving great, tasty, hearty unfussy food. Please pass our compliments on to your chefs and also your waiting staff who served us with not only efficiency but also with friendliness. Have no doubt that I will recommend you to everyone I know.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Set menu wonderful value for money”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Had not been to the Stonemill for sometime and was pleased to find they had included a set menu as an option. All four of us thought the choices although limited were appealing and we could have eaten any of them. The extras were amazing especially the shot of soup which was wonderful. The only downside was that the young staff were a little over attentive asking us if everything was ok at least twice per course. We will go back soon

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank readheadMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wonderful food in fantastic surroundings. A really tranquil village a few minutes drive outside of Monmouth. I had the fish, i forget what, but it was succulent.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely food great service”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I ticked 2011 as I remembered this restaurant just today and wanted to add a review.

Again we were en route to SW Wales when we decided to stop off for an off the cuff meal.

Service was excellent and being the driver I enjoyed it so much that I decided I would like some wine with my meal.

I asked if they had any rooms available and was pleasantly surprised when they offered one of their cottages at a good rate... Wine flowed and we had an excellent overnight stay cuddled up in front of the log fire with yet another bottle of wine from the restaurant.

We have returned a couple of times since and nothing has changed our opinion of the restaurant. Have even had the surprise of seeing the additions to the family growing up...

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonemill also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Stonemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing