We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accommodation, superb views and very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Your own private south facing deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private south facing deck
Incorporating an old  cottage over 300 years old overlooking the famous Wye Valley. Breakfast extra
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Your own private south facing deck
Incorporating an old  cottage over 300 years old overlooking the famous Wye Valley. Breakfast extra
the view from our garden
Your own outside access
Sky TV and Internet wifi
frequent visitors in the garden
a new slant on mixed bathing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation, superb views and very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We rented The Deck at Rough Pastures for a 2 night stay as we were visiting Trellech and Monmouth for a wedding. We were blown away as soon as we arrived at how tranquil the area was. Everything was ready and superb, The Deck was spotless and beautifully presented. Towels and bedlinen were supplied all spotless and beautifully soft. Fresh flowers on the table, Bread, butter, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, toiletries were all supplied and Fresh eggs from their own chickens were available for a minimal price. Sky TV and Wi-Fi all available if we had of had time to watch! Beautiful decking area outside to sit and just relax, BBQ available and Sunloungers as well as table, chairs and umbrella. The views were superb, overlooking the garden from the Decking and then for miles from the driveway. Although The Deck is part of the main house you would never know, you have your own drive and entrance and it is so secluded. Carole is a wonderful host - nothing is too much trouble. We were emailed beforehand with accurate directions to get to the property and felt very welcome indeed. The locals are all very friendly and so helpful too. Our only regret is we wish we had booked for a longer stay and are already considering coming back again later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thank you very much for a great review Michelle. We are so glad you were pleased with The Deck and hope we will see you later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbenton1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely secluded cottage with all the mod cons”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Deck at Rough Pastures
What a wonderful stay just over two days, with the wildlife Right up to the door with deer and many species of birds with views over the wooded valley. The cottage itself has all the amenities including sky and wi-fi, Carole couldn't be more accommodating with flowers, milk,bread and butter and a friendly welcome and very helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you Derek I am glad you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked this weekend break at the last minute and Carole could not have been more accommodating. Her friendly welcome and attention to detail in the accommodation made the stay so easy, from the provision of coffee/tea and the toiletries to helpful directions. It matters to Carole that people have a good experience, a lovely person.

As for the setting....wow!...if you like watching birds and nature, this is a beautiful, peaceful sanctuary well worth a visit to escape and rebalance. We saw a greater spotted woodpecker, nuthatches and all kinds of small birds on the feeder at the end of the spacious and well equipped deck identified from the handy bird book provided. Sitting on the deck in the evening was relaxing and so quiet....bluebells in the gardens, we didn't have time to use all the facilities,,,.maybe next time we'll lie on the loungers or use the BBQ provided?!

The apartment has everything you could want; a well equipped kitchen-diner (even has a dish washer!), a comfortable lounge area with all kinds of interesting books and information about places to visit. TV with SKY and wi-fi access mean you can stay in touch with the rest of the world if you need/want to. We got a mobile phone signal as well which is a bonus if you need to be contactable. The pictures on the profile page are very accurate. The apartment was spotlessly clean with nice touches like fresh flowers on the table.

The bedroom is comfortable and the en-suite shower room perfect to scrub up after a days walking in the stunning countryside nearby.

The accommodation has its own driveway and parking place so although it is attached to Carole's house - you would never know it. Places of interest and country walks are very close by and lots of choice of things to do to meet everyone's interests. You will need a car to get there and travel around.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to enjoy a peaceful break, close to nature. There is so much more I could have said about this break , all positive - we had a fabulous time and we can't wait to book again. Thanks Carole (oh, and the fresh eggs were delicious!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural setting and Carole's hospitality
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you very much Sheila we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and are looking forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieME
Mettmann, Germany
1 review
“So peaceful and perfect”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely apartment, the best self catering place I’ve stayed at in for a long time. Spotlessly clean with everything I needed for my stay including WiFi.
Within a radius of a couple of miles there are so many places to visit e.g.
·       Monmouth
·       Tintern Abbey
·       Abergavenny
·       Forest of Dean  and Wye Valley
·       Symonds Yat
·       Offa’s Dyke Path
And there’s so much more which should go on that list. I spent 10 days in this beautiful area and can definitely recommend it for a longer stay!
Finally, I’d like to thank Carole and Chris very much for being such kind and helpful hosts and I look forward to seeing you again next year!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you Connie, see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant break”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Only a short stay of 3 nights but really impressed with the accommodation, host & the area of Monmouthshire. Well done Carole 5 out of 5 although you can't take credit for Monmouthshire!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck
Liked least: Not a problem to us but there are stairs to climb
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you so much, we enjoyed having you and your family as guests. We love Monmouthshire as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus B
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just a lovely place”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Set in the hills above Monmouth this is a quiet, lovely place to stay. We agree with all the previous reviews. The excellent accommodation and well equipped facilities including the availability of wi-fi, made this a perfect choice for enjoying this part of the country. A great centre for trips into South Wales, Bristol, Gloucester and Herefordshire - there is plenty to do and see. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and a big thank you to our hosts for all their help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity and peacefulness of the location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2911butte...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Throughly enjoyed our stay at the Deck. Tranquility at its best. Very well furnished and equipped. ideal location. Great hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2015
Thank you for the review It was very nice meeting you and we hope you had a good trip home

Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing