We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of #7 Church Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
#7 Church Street
Ranked #9 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The title says it all . Good value , clean room with the advantage of excellent dining thrown in .

Great service from Steve and his partner .

Could recommend this place if ever you are in Monmouth for the night or for a meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldermorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 208 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room served its purpose and as we had booked to see a show at the savoy which you can throw a stone and hit from here which was ideal and with plenty of parking at the rear a pay and display but free at times check with the Prego.We found the staff very helpful /friendly and monmouth a nice place to visit.Booked a table for a meal in the evening before the show which was very good and thanked the Chef. The room was clean and functional for our one night stay with ensuite, and with a lovelly cooked breakfast in the price value for money.We have booked again already due to seeing another show at the Savoy and look forward to our stay as it makes all the difference when you know what your getting keep it up Prego.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UPTOYOUSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were after a quiet place to eat with an interesting menu. This place was the answer. It had some of the most delicious food I've ever tasted. The menu from what I could see changes nightly but if they offer Welsh Lamb or vanilla and raspberry creme brulee. go for it!
- great value for money, great service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimble_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having popped into Monmouth for the first time we were just going to look around and then head back to London, however we came across Bistro Prego and changed our mind. A double room with e suite for £55! B & B, and 10% off food if you eat there too. An amazing meal in the evening and lovely breakfast all freshly cooked.
Thank you! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor backing onto the car park, there was a little noise in the evening b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideally placed in the centre of Monmouth. Public car park right outside the back door. Friendly manager/chef. Good breakfast. Rooms small but warm and comfortable. Nice hot shower. Bistro Prego is excellent value for money and a perfect place from which to explore the Forest of Dean and South East Wales. Look no further for a value short break!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidyarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to Prego for our second last night - Valentines. Another wonderful meal this time from a restricted Valentines menu that really worked; the duck with lentil and sweet potato was perfectly pitched. Service is unintrusive, relaxed, polite. Fantastic cheesecake. Fabulous wine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthyboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived here looking like drowned rats following a long walk in rain and wind. Once in the room we quickly defrosted thanks to the nice hot shower, then had a snooze on the comfortable bed before going downstairs for dinner. The food was wonderful, if we lived in travelling distance I would definitely eat there again! No traffic noise as the bistro is located in the pedestrian part of town, and after a good night's sleep we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Much recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
66 reviews
0 mi away
Steppes Farm
Steppes Farm
#18 of 21 in Monmouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to #7 Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about #7 Church Street

Address: 7 Church Street, Monmouth NP25 3BX, Wales (Formerly Bistro Prego)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: $102 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — #7 Church Street 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pedestrianised centre of the old part of Monmouth town, quiet and free of a lot of traffic noise. We are an ideal place to stay, with 8 en suite bedrooms and a 2 AA rosette awarded bistro offering informal dining below. Ample public parking is available right outside the back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your #7 Church Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bistro Prego Hotel Monmouth
#7 Church Street Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing