We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and clean spacious rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and clean spacious rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Came to Monmouth for a family wedding, and chose the Riverside Hotel as it was close to the reception. Very friendly staff, clean rooms but a bit dated. Room was hot at night as it was summer but nothing that leaving the window open couldn't fix. Great location as it is an easy walk over the bridge to town. Would stay here again if we return in cooler weather!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingClarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    30
    26
    26
See reviews for
15
86
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

On first driving up the hotel looks like a motel and the car park adds to this view but keep going. Inside is well decorated and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is freshly cooked and very nice. Staff are very welcoming. Word of warning arrived on a Monday and it was the chef's night off. I didn't start looking for a meal until about nine and even the chip shops were shut so had sandwiches from a Shell Garage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Came to Monmouth for a wedding and decided to base ourselves there for a few days. This 2 star hotel has friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere, tasty and generous breakfasts, and it was certainly adequate for our purpose. We walked in the Forest of Dean, we visited Abergavenny on market day, walked up Sugar Loaf, drove into the Brecon Beacons, stopped off at Ross on Wye. It is a one minute walk from the main street and has it's own parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosemaryL612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Monmouth is a fairly pricey place to stay and we were on a budget on a busy bank holiday so we chose the riverside. Because we booked directly they offered breakfast within the very reasonable price.

The hotel itself is pretty dated with fixtures and fittings and in fact a whole experience that is reminiscent of what you'd expect from a local hotel in the 80's. This is not necessarily “bad” and all staff are incredibly friendly but if you expect modernity it won’t be for you. However the place is clean. The beds are new and the room had a small lcd tv with freeeview plus excellent wi-fi signal and no password needed..huzzah! But, the room itself was quite hot even without any heating on and the windows open.

The place is run more as a local pub with sizeable B&B on the side. The bar stayed open until 1am which was a bonus and has a pool table but it wasn’t noisy. I imagine it has plenty of locals coming in. Breakfast till 10am with a limited selction of boxed cereals. Fruit juice and some apples and oranges or a full English which was filling and tasty.

Theres also plenty of off road parking and it would be secure for bikers or cyclists worried about their rides.

It’s obvious its run on a budget and that’s fair enough but a couple of suggestions I’d offer which are cheap but would make a difference are: blackout linings on the curtains (I ended up using towels), slow close hinge on the corridor doors (walls are pretty thin) and possibly swapping the pine loo seat and decor in the bathroom. The Bath mixer shower cable outer casing had unraveled but water was very hot and the pressure was amazing!

The friendliness is infectious there, so I feel bad to say anything negative but it feels a bit like they aren’t quite up to date with the latest ways to run a hotel and if people don’t know they can’t get better and I really do wish them luck.

Overall: Budget 5/5, Friendliness 5*/5, Cleanliness 4/5, brekky 4/5, Décor 2/5 and yes I’d stay there again but I would probably just check to see if there was anywhere else at such a decent price first.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speed_demon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Fifty quid for 1 night room.
Didn't have breakfast as seems dear when you can go to wetherspoons which opens at 7 am.
Plus - clean room and lovely big bathroom and very friendly and helpful staff. Especially the reception/ cook ? man.
Very Dear bar. Free parking
Takes dogs. Rooms don't smell doggy. Would stay again as seems decent price for area but have had much better for £40 mark elsewhere
Fab location to see everything in town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at the riverside last night and I have got to say for the money we payed for 1 night it was great value. Hotel is spotless rooms were bright and clean and staff brilliant and a great atmosphere could not have asked for more. Near to all vicinities and plenty of parking We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Than you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. Please return again soon.

Many Thanks

Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has friendly staff, free wifi, comfy bed, a good bathroom and shower with soaps etc, a well cooked hot breakfast and free parking. The bar looked fine as well

This is not a brand new modern hotel. It has lots of character.

We had a great time. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
11.6 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
7.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head
The King's Head
#13 of 23 in Monmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#6 of 23 in Monmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Cinderhill Street, Monmouth NP25 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing