We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked in on-line, sounded good, but not quite up to expections, good location for a stroll through Monmouth. Friendly and helpful staff, short walk through the ancient arch to local pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    31
    27
    29
See reviews for
15
88
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed there on a golfing break. The room was tatty and hadn't been properly cleaned. there was very little information available, the WI-Fi advertised did not work in the room. The bathroom was in a poor state and the shower was very difficult to use. The noise from the bar downstairs kept us awake at night.

But by far the worst part was the catering. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, much on the menu wasn't even available so the choice was very limited but the food we ordered was awful and appeared to be a ready meal simply heated through, they didn't even put a full compliment of vegetables on, one person received a couple of potatoes and 1 sprig of broccoli.

In the morning the cooked breakfast was cold, the portions stingy and to be honest tasted average to poor! The butter for the toast looked as though it had been in and out of the fridge many many times YUK!

The place has the potential to be very good, it just needs someone to own it that knows what to do, above all it needs a thorough refurbishment.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenno16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monmouth hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it included car parking however car parking is available and cheap in Monmouth. The hotel needs completely redecorating and refurbishing. Our room had dirty walls and the bedding was stained and fan in the bathroom was thick with muck, the carpet had been replaced but now they need to do the rest. The staff were generally polite and the breakfast was good which surprised us. The packet of biscuits left in the room were crushed completely, definitely only 2 stars, only stay 1 night!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very welcoming, pleasant and friendly staff. Food of excellent quality. Overall experience top quality. Having arrived with a party of eight we found that the accommodation was exceptionally good and fulfilled our expectations.

Room Tip: Go to the Riverside Hotel Monmouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam Surrey UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is our second visit at this hotel. Laura and the staff always make us feel welcome. The food is superb especially the scrambled eggs - definately light and fluffy. Nothing is too much trouble for them. It was good to see Alex and Albert again. No faults found. The hotel is extremely clean and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Riverside Hotel on 13/04 - 14/04/2013 and the staff immediately went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived from Glasgow 1 hr before our good friends weddings and the staff just rushed us directly to the room so we could prepare, the check in basics were completed later.

Through out our stay the staff were flexible, helpful and always willing to go the extra mile.

Having stayed in a number of 5* hotels in various countries I'd say the room was average, but when you consider price it is excellent value for money. Very clean, all expected additions (kettle, TV, Iron, Hairdryer etc) and onsite bar and free wifi.

Breakfast was excellent and If I'm honest, under priced compared to the standard.

I would absolutely stay in this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to family and close friends.

Room Tip: The service sells this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The manager Laura could not have been more helpful. Without doubt the best customer service I've had in any hotel so far (and I've been in plenty) the hotel offers everything you need for a short or long stay. Cosy, family like feel to it, nothing was ever too much to ask and everything was done with a smile on the staff faces. The menu was fine and was easily adapted to cater your needs. Will definitely stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarllavNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
4.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
113 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#13 of 21 in Monmouth
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Cinderhill Street, Monmouth NP25 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing