We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Brontes Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
view from the cottage
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
imthemoon...
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a wonderfully peaceful short break, it may have been winter outside but Brontes Cottage was lovely and warm. The place is a tardis, large sunny rooms, well equipped kitchen and yummy goody basket from our Host Emma. On her recommendation we had some great meals at The Carpenters Arms a short drive away. We're planning a return visit with family, hopefully later this Year
Many thanks
Debbie & Gary

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
How kind of you to leave such a lovely review. I very much look forward to welcoming you bank to Bronte's!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
660arthur
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb in every way”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

an excellent holiday cottage,modern,with everything you need for a perfect base to visit the
local surrounding countryside.
we have three Labradors who enjoyed the closed in garden and local walks.
home from home what more do you need perfect in every way

Arthur and jean from north wales

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you so much. Such wonderful guests who left Brontes Cottage immaculate! Taking the trouble to leave such kind comments means so much to me as I always striving to achieve the best standards. Can't wait to welcome you back. Bless you .Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soloskier
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Brill cottage, modern clean luxury spacious feel, all facilities you could want for in a holiday cottage even down to dvd's and games , Emma has thought of everything and makes you so welcome one you've been your hooked and will want to return ,thanks great weekend Sarah.

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C B
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay with plenty to do - or chill!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place had everything we were looking for as a group of friends looking for a catch up weekend. Wonderful Cottage with absolutely everything you could need, down to the basics such as ice!! Great location, near town where we went canoeing and a stones throw from the local pub with great facilities, lucky enough to have a beer festival the weekend of our stay. Owner was wonderful and kind enough to inform us of local 'things to do' on arrival etc... Welcome basket was lovely, with beautiful cakes, fresh bread and even milk etc. in fridge. Cottage is newly refurbished to a high standard. Perfect for any stay. Already planning our return. Thanks for lovely stay.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having a cuppa on arrival, comfy bed.
Liked least: going back to work,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca W
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home in the Countryside”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked pretty last minute and Emma the owner was very accommodating ensuring that the cot was set up for our 14 month old and that a Hugh chair would be available. Upon arrival we found various goodies had been left for us - a very welcome find after a long journey. The cottage itself is extremely large and spacious,very clean and tidy and has everything you could possibly need. It was a nice touch that most of the basics that you might need on holiday are in the cupboards, tea, coffee, foil etc. Emma had also left us enough dish washer tablets for our stay and fairy liquid also provided. All the sorts of things that you need, but don't want to carry with you. Shower gel, bubble bath and the most gorgeous hand wash were also provided and 2 towels each. The master bedroom is massive, and once we got used to the sloping ceilings managed to stop banging our heads haha. The living room was huge and the cottage was extremely warm and cosy on the occasions we had to switch the heating on. DVDs, a small library of books and some games are there for your use if you get time and the sofa bed in the living room is also very comfortable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return without hesitation. Thank you Emma for your hospitality :)

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The spaciousness of the cottage
Liked least: There was nothing about the property we didn't like, but think it might benefit from a BBQ outside for the summer months
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2013
How very kind of you to take the trouble to leave such wonderful feedback.You were the perfect guests and really hope you come back and stay again.Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing