We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed thoughts over two evenings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerset Arms

Somerset Arms
Ranked #41 of 57 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wirral
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts over two evenings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

FIVE STARS............
We visited the Somerset Arms last Friday evening and sat in the "front bar" with a group of workmen and our dogs. The atmosphere was excellent, the service superb, nice beer and fantastic food, so delicious, my mouth is watering thinking of it now. After a wonderful evening we left already talking about our pending return the following evening.

< ONE STAR........
We visited the Somerset Arms last Saturday evening having had a fabulous time the previous evening. We left the dogs at home and excitedly headed for the restaurant. Unfortunately we hadn't booked a table, our error, so gladly sat in the rear lounge. It was really cold so had to sit in our coats, not deterred we waited to be served. Then we waited a bit longer. And longer. Eventually, we gave our order and waited and waited........... a large group for the restaurant arrived so we waited some more. Finally three of our meals arrived. Two were average. The third was very unpleasant. Soggy pasta, one half mushroom and some chunks of chicken in an instant gravy accompanied by raw garlic bread, aka Chicken & Mushroom Pasta. It was totally inedible so was left, though admittedly no complaint made at the time. Finally the third meal arrived, the rare steak was well done. We thought it strange for the medium steak to arrive some 15 - 20 minutes earlier.

Such a shame on the Saturday after such a fabulous Friday.

Oh yes, I almost forgot about the drinks on Saturday, no I didn't... that's right, they were forgotten.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch.

The food was like you cook at home. It was great.

Live locally, so will be going again more often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janetthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Went here for a Christmas Meal. They opened up especially early for us because we were going to a party night in the local village hall there were at least 28 of us.
They were very well organised, very good food and very nice staff. I had the home made curry (yum yum) Would certainly eat hear again. Thank you all very much. Tot notch place

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth the diversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We diverted off the main road en route to Cardiff from the north west as we've enjoyed eating here when staying in the area. It was a good decision: excellent and friendly service, freshly cooked food and good beer. The almond and blackberry slice was excellent. We also bought a cake to take away.
We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went out for my friends birthday lunch on saturday, they have a meal deal on 2 meals for £12 and 2 desserts for £6, food and drinks well priced, had to wait for our lunch for awhile but we did have a big table, i had a curry and my fiance had a chicken and leek pie, both really enjoyed our meal, dessert was amazing i had bakewell tart and custard which was really good best i have had and my fiance had a ameretto and toberlone tart said it was really good. Def would go again, lovely little country pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somerset Arms also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing