We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids in the summer”
Review of Somerset Arms

Somerset Arms
Ranked #39 of 58 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
usk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for kids in the summer”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Love coming here with my little one great garden and play area , sometimes a bouncy castle, food is good pub grub at very good prices , fast service , will see you again soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deflated!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I left feeling deflated and disappointed. I've been here many times, never until now have I been disappointed! The food is lovely! No doubt about that. The service was appalling, im in my late 20s but being lucky enough to look slightly younger went against me here! Being the only ones in the entire pub having to pay for our food before having it! I was served the wrong drink to start off, but out of politeness I keep quiet and drank it. Surely that makes me a common theif who's going to eat and 'run' all this aside! A beautiful pub, highly recommend to over 70s who will receive respect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ageism”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a lovely meal and often come here but today the customer service for one of the waitresses was appalling! We felt very discriminated against because of our age, we was not allowed a tab yet everyone else in the beer garden was! Perhaps the younger generation should stick to McDonald's! Their customer service knocks socks of these!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food at very good prices”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thought we'd give this place a try and glad we did. Their homemade steak pie is just as good as
'mummy would bake'. Cost was £14.00 for 2 persons even the veg etc was good. Nice staff and we will certainly be back.
Well worth a visit and I'm sure you'll be surprised just as we were!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladylee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooking”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been visiting the Somerset Arms for about 4 to 5 years -sometimes only once a year -
but have always had excellent food and friendly service.The pub seems to be a real ' local hub'
and there are always locals eating and drinking there. The menu ranges from Salmon steaks to Vegetable curry;steaks to fish and chips.The restaurant is quite small but meals can be eaten in the garden too(which is a large grassy area with play equipment and beautiful flower borders) on several picnic tables overlooking the fields beyond.Everything on the menu is cooked
fresh for you and the prices are so reasonable-especially if you take the meal deal ( 2 main courses for £12) .There are also lots of Home made cakes for sale -from Victoria sandwich ,Chocolate cake,lemon drizzle...yum yum!!A real gem of a place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMc528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somerset Arms also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing