We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”
Review of Punch House

Punch House
Ranked #47 of 59 Restaurants in Monmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Punch House has recently undergone refurbishment and is now your local neighbourhood cafe bar with rooms. Open all day, every day, pay us a visit whatever the occasion! Whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, we've got it all covered. Our friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don't want to leave you can check-in to one of our luxurious rooms for the night.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stopped in to the Punch House with view to having a meal, but a drink was more than enough. Thread bare carpet, grubby seats, ugh!! Couldn't get out fast enough, even left my drink behind

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    81
    33
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unbelieveably bad”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Chips which had been cooked in oil which hadn't been changed in a long time, ham which I coukd have used for ping pong and eggs which I didnt even dare eat.

What a shame - beers are ok everything else is embarrassing.

The staff are really friendly and I feel sorry for the awful food they get to serve.

Sort it out or just do drinks - tourists beware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdlewis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

They catered for 56 of us with whole salmon, Thick cut beef and ham plus all the rest cheeses deserts.
Bar prices very reasonable.
Staff very friendly

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ISLANDHOUSESwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fish and chips great”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good friendly service, we enjoyed our meal and grandson had what he wanted to eat, being 15 and a growing lad, sometimes it's difficult to fill him up, but they managed it there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Paella”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on April Fools day. We wanted to watch the FA Cup match on TV. My wife had scampi and how can you ruin that she said it was OK.
The menu showed Paella I love that so gave it a try its not cheap at £9 ish.
What arrived was a sort of stir fried yellow rice dish. With chicken and prawns. It has lots of frozen peas to fill it out. It was quite tasty but in no way could be described as Paella. It had never been cooked in stock. There was no evidence of some tomatoes, saffron (you must be joking) or a substitute.
A slice of lemon would have enhanced it immensely. It's just not Paella. The cook or the company it is sourced from should research a good cookbook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psutherland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punch House also viewed

 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Punch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing