We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for people watching - good coffee”
Review of Coffee#1

Coffee#1
Ranked #2 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Monmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofa’s, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
kent england
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for people watching - good coffee”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely coffee and according to my parents the best pot of Earl Grey they have ever had!! We sat and watched the world go by very happily. Hope to come back again. I try coffee shops everywhere we go and always grind my own beans and make my own at home and this coffee shop is very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discerning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“a comfortable place to relax and enjoy a coffee”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff are always very friendly and the coffee delicious. Comfy sofas and chairs upstairs with newspapers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline-Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely ambiance”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm a bit of a fan of Coffee#1 and despite their being bought out by a brewery, the cafes seem to manage to continue much as they always were.

Lovely staff, great coffee, comfortable chairs and, upstairs, a peaceful space in which to take a break. And nice loos. Always a nice loo in a Coffee#1. The Panini was ok. Only ok, alas. but what can you expect when you know that these things are made off site, chilled down and brought in daily?

It's a chain but it's still a good chain and while I turn away from the big chains, Coffee #1 still draws me in

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank protowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“jane h”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

good value for money very relaxed and staff very friendly right on the corner of the high street although busy not noisey

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a must for connoisseurs of coffee. The beans used are clearly far fresher than in some of the chain coffee shops, producing exceptional espresso and espresso based drinks. The coffee shop is spacious and even has AC. There is a good range of fresh cakes, pastries etc if you are peckish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee#1 also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Coffee#1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing