We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure of the market they are trying to attract”
Review of Ugo - CLOSED

Ugo
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Bar, Cafe, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not sure of the market they are trying to attract”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked to go with my family when i was visiting. On arrival there was only one more family eating but about 10 young lads (18-20yrs) hanging around the bar and the soft seating area in the windows. The food was luke warm and portion size was average. the waitress was too busy trying to stay listening to the conversations going on at the bar rather than taking the order! Shame really as I was told it was a nice place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family night out.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My daughter (12 y p) thought the food yummy,we thought it was good value ,lively and fun, great staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CathB6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, South wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I find this to be a great place to go to eat, the staff are friendly and the whole place has a good atmosphere . Once you have eaten you feel you want to just stay and relax and never feel rushed. An excellent relaxing atmosphere on a Sunday .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank w1paulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memories to keep”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stumbled across this place to have a few drinks for my birthday, I have never felt more welcome anywhere. The owner and staff at the bar showed fantastic hospitatlity making it a night to remember. Letting my fiance play guitar and getting the whole place to sing Happy Birthday, made me smile all night.
We returned to ugos for lunch aswell as drinks on consecutive days as we were so impressed, the food was fantastic, I had a lovely Chicken ceaser salad.
Thank you Ugo for making my holiday

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Valda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOurnewomth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond superb, felt like family.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

just had the greatest meal in ugo's. we decided to go in at first as it was the only place open late at night and were made to feel like family by the management couple. we returned the next day for drinks again then ate today. food was fantastic value, don't be fooled by the eye turning prices at the wetherspoon's opposite, these prices are similar but for far better food. it was only because of the friendliness of the owners that we returned but i'm so glad we did. homemade pizzas, wedges to die for and the best service i've seen in a long long time. great beer, spirits and cocktails, and maybe some late night acoustic guitar. better than any bar where i live!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eddievanhalen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugo also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing