We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place, a hidden gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Part-Y-Seal Tea Rooms

Part-Y-Seal Tea Rooms
Ranked #6 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Monmouth
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: There is also accommodation.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place, a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent value, wonderful setting, scrumptious food, what more could you want. We had no problem with service, it's a great place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willsley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A hidden gem for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nestled on the border of England and Wales, Part-Y-Seal is a great find for afternoon tea. Their home made scones, cakes and desserts are delicious! As are their home made drinks like their hot plum drink, if you fancy a change from tea and coffee (which are also on offer). Very tasty light lunches are available too.

The ambience is unique. Once a house of 18th century country gentry it's possible to pay a small additional fee to walk in the formal gardens, or simply enjoy your tea overlooking the tranquility of rolling fields (for no extra charge). Inside the decor is an unusual combination of Eastern furniture in classical Georgian architecture.

The owner is very welcoming and the service is always polite and friendly.

And the icing on the cake are the prices, which are very reasonable for the wonderful food provided.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PottyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRKENHEAD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Strange experience a piece of the orient in an English setting.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this deserted building for afternoon tea and were surprised at how dusty and tired the place was. The man who brought our aft tea was very attentive and served us tasty home made scones and cakes but the milk served with our tea had floating bits in which put us off drinking it. The views are lovely it's a shame nobody else was there. If this place was freshened up and cleaned it would make a lovely wedding venue. As mentioned in another review we waited around to pay we can only assume the poor man needs some help.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful place, olde style with roaring real fires when colder weather. Food is excellent, service is excellent. Elderflower juice is out of this world, as are the scones and cream teas. I have been here quite a few times and will continue to do so. The grounds are also beautiful

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ultranuttymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Faded Granduer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy to find as just off the main road to Grosmont. The house is a little tied, but the choice of light lunches and teas / scones are fantastic and very good value. We always stop here when we are walking in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Part-Y-Seal Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Part-Y-Seal Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing