We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day”
Review of Caer Llan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caer Llan
Ranked #3 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Caer Llan is a truly magical place. From the moment we first saw it, my now husband and I knew that this was the place we wanted to be married at. We didn't even bother looking at other venues. From the very beginning Vicky and Jake couldn't do enough for us and their support and advice in helping us plan the wedding was invaluable. We chose to have exclusive use over the weekend for family and guests, and this proved to be the best thing we could have done. Friday evening was spent sitting outside soaking up the fabulous scenery, welcoming guests, chatting and enjoying the bar! The atmosphere was so relaxing, informal and friendly. Just what was needed to calm any wedding day nerves.
The wedding day itself couldn't have gone better, apart from a couple of hiccups one involving the wedding dress! Again Vicky was on hand to come to the rescue and save the day. What a star! The food was exceptional - we chose the fine dining option and it certainly did not disappoint.
Vicky, Jake and their fabulous staff really could not do enough to make sure our day was truly memorable. We would highly recommend Caer Llan to anyone looking for the perfect wedding venue, with a team who really care about "your" day and will go that extra mile to make sure you get the day of your dreams.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our son Paul and his partner (now wife!) Rachel chose this venue for their wedding on 20th July and it could not have been bettered. We were fortunate to have fantastic hot weather for the weekend most of which we spent outdoors on the terrace where we could admire the beautiful view, and who'd have thought it would be hot enough to swim in an outdoor pool in Wales! The location is stunning and the accommodation and food excellent - we had the buffet which was really varied, delicious and very plentiful. What really helped to make it such a special occasion though was the laid back, friendly atmosphere and excellent service provided by Vicky, Jake and all the staff who couldn't do enough for us. It was wonderful to have exclusive use of such a lovely place for the weekend, knowing that all the details would be taken care of. I would recommend this venue to anyone, in fact we've all been raving about it ever since! lesleymclarke

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Caer Llan is a beautiful place - it is so magical that it overcame a disaster to the bride's "dress-of-a-lifetime" when a friend accidentally marked it just before she was due to leave the room. The situation was saved by Vicky, the owner, draping and lightly stitching the dress to disguise the mishap. She did so well that some people thought that was the design - what a star. Top tip: take Stain Devil with you! The bride was half-an-hour late but her face was full of joy and happiness - bless her - many would have been puffy-eyed from weeping. The bride and groom went on to have a wonderful wedding day..

The venue is a delight inside, and out, and is set amidst sublime scenery, which you just want to keep looking at. We were impressed with the quick transformation of the marriage room into the wedding breakfast room, whilst the guests enjoyed a glass of champagne. The flowers were very beautiful; the fine-dining meal was excellent, especially the Welsh lamb and the room looked stunning. "The Good Times" got everyone dancing in the evening, in spite of the heat, but it was good to wander in the lovely grounds to cool off.

We all felt we'd had a unique experience - Vicky and Jake, and their hardworking staff, all helped to give our son and daughter-in-law, their family and friends a wonderful memory to take away of this very special occasion. Jake even ferried guests, who had transport trouble, into Monmouth.

Thank you all at Caer Llan but especially Vicky who saved the day (and what a day to save!). The family are all wondering what occasion we can next celebrate there.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two rooms with a balcony to gain maximum benefit from the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveroftravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I choose Caer Llan to host our wedding reception on the 18th May and Jake, Vicky and all their staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble in the planning process and on the day everything ran seamlessly. Their advice was very valuable and their flexibility very much appreciated.

We had the best day and in such a fantastic setting, the grounds were fabulous and everyone commented on the view. Our guests with young children could let them run and play freely without worry. The internal set up catered for all age ranges as well, our older guests commented that they were very comfortable in the piano bar area with comfy seating. The exclusivity of the venue was such a bonus, compared to a lot of weddings we've been to in larger hotels that don't offer exclusivity. At Caer Llan it was literally just us and our guests, we felt like we really had an intimate location.

The food was lovely, we went for the 'Fine Dining' option and it was perfect. Vicky was open to our special request of 'bacon sandwiches and cheesy chips' for our evening food which went down really well with our guests.

The accommodation had been recently refurbished and was really comfortable, convenient and well kitted out. I think everyone would have chosen to stay there if that was an option. The stand alone bath in the 'Bridal suite' was luxurious. Breakfast was provided at a time that we choose and was again flawless.

We would highly recommend Caer Llan if you are looking for a relaxed and intimate venue with a lovely attention to detail!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aehwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked Caer Llan for our wedding on 15th June with only 7 months to plan it all. The whole process was made so easy by Vicky and Jake that we didn't get stressed out at any point, despite the short time scales. The venue itself is beautiful and all of our guests were blown away by it. We were made to feel like it was our own home for the weekend as we had exclusive use of the premises, which created a warm and relaxed atmosphere. The food was lovely and the service fantastic from all of the staff. The rooms are excellent and the beds very comfortable, the large bridal suite was especially appreciated when me and my bridesmaid were getting ready early for an 11am ceremony! I cannot thank them enough for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband, Ed, and I had the most fantastic wedding weekend thanks to Jake, Vicky and their wonderful staff. Their home, which became our home for the weekend, is absolutely stunning, and in a rural location with beautiful views. The family house is not a hotel, but with the well-stocked bar, excellent customer service, modern bedrooms and superb food, you could easily mistake it for a 5* country escape. The venue is large, with lovely grounds, but also has a very cosy and intimate feel, which allowed everyone who attended to feel that they could relax and enjoy the weekend and wedding day. Vicky met up with us several times prior to the wedding to ensure she understood our requirements down to the smallest detail, and on the day ran everything better than we could have imagined possible! We had the fine dining menu on the day, which was delicious and far superior to any wedding menus I have had previously. The buffets and breakfasts prepared by Vicky and her staff were also amazing, and more plentiful than I had hoped for.

It is a testament to Caer Llan that not only have several of our guests commented that it was the best wedding they have ever been to, but also that we can’t wait to celebrate another special occasion there in the future. Thank you so much Vicky and Jake for giving us everything we could have wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katewilson3013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked our wedding weekend at Caer Llan back in May 2011 for April 2013. Even though the building was still undergoing renovation and redecoration at the time, Jake and Vicky's enthusiasm and vision of what Caer Llan would be gave us the confidence to book. We are so glad we did! Through 2 years of planning, Vicky was on hand to answer our numerous e-mail queries and they were happy for us to book an appointment to come to Caer Llan and look around whenever we needed to, this included doing our pre-wedding shoot in the grounds. We wanted a wedding where our friends, family and dogs could stay with us and relax in an informal atmosphere and Vicky and Jake did everything they could to make this happen. Vicky's guidance and advice on timings etc was invaluable and made the whole weekend run like clockwork. All of our guests commented on how beautiful Caer Llan is, how comfortable the rooms are and how relaxed and seamless the weekend was. Our nieces and nephews loved the open space and the wii and projector screen provided. We have had numerous comments about how amazing Jake's hog roast was too! Our memories of our wedding are absolutely incredible, a big part of this is due to holding it at Caer Llan. We cannot thank Jake and Vicky enough!

Room Tip: We used Room 1 as the bridal suite and there was plenty of room for the bridal party, photographer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
8.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
3.0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Llan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Llan

Address: Lydart, Monmouth NP25 4JS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Caer Llan 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caer Llan is a beautiful old country house set high in the hills with spectacular, far-reaching views across the open countryside of the Vale of Usk. Established in 1969, we are a thriving family run business that takes great pride in the warmth of our hospitality, our friendly staff and our attention to detail. We specialise in group functions with exclusive use of the property such as weddings, family reunioms, house parties and business events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caer Llan Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing