We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location, quiet but within easy reach...”
other travelers have booked this property
Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Spacious cottage kitchen /diner cottage terrace with panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Spacious cottage kitchen /diner
cottage terrace with panoramic views
Spacious lounge with comfortable seating and TV
King bedroom with brass bed, chaise lounge and tv
Pet sheep with her 4 lambs
Ground floor twin ensuite room
Sheepdog in snow
Christmas 2016
Raglan Castle
Tintern Abbey
Sheep
Redhill Fishery approx 1 mile from cottage
Monnow Bridge Monmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Monmouth, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian P
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, quiet but within easy reach of town.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our first trip to the wilds of Wales found us in an extremely remote location, extremely quiet but too far from civilisation. Whitehill Farm Cottage however was a revelation.
A well appointed cottage in a beautiful location, within 10 minutes of the town of Monmouth. Mrs Yeomans was very friendly & helpful and recommended the Usk Show, which was being held that weekend. As "townies" we enjoyed the crafts and livestock shows. My two daughters and our grandchildren accompanied us and we all had a great time. A real bonus for us was the "dog friendly" pubs & restaurants that made us (and our Staffie) very welcome.
All in all a great week away. Would thoroughly recommend and we are sure to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog Friendly location
Liked least: Dodgy internet access at times
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the good review you gave us. It was lovely to meet you all and I hope you will stay with us again.
kind regards
Beryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A very pleasant place to be, in the countryside but five minutes from town for shopping and supplies. very pleasant walks and views, watch for the deer, many birds and at dusk the badgers.
the accommodation was clean, comfortable and everything you needed for self catering was available. having en-suites was a bonus as we had a number of different visitors who stayed overnight, could be something to do with the atmosphere and the red wine.
As ex pats from South Africa we had braais a number of times, but also found a number of good eating places in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, views and atmosphere
Liked least: the double bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to place your review, I hope we will see you all again soon
kind regards
Beryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jfulford2...
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A short break in a 5star farmhouse”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned home after staying on this beautiful farm for 3 days. We found this farm on the internet and was not disappointed. Beryl yeomans is a lovely host who has thought of every comfort. Her breakfasts were great and plenty of it, all local produce cooked to perfection. This is a working farm in a beautiful location, the scenery is lovely. It feels remote but only 2/3 miles from Monmouth with good road access with plenty of local pubs and restaurants nearby, we will certainly return. We will certainly recommend to friends and relatives

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All home comforts
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the wonderful review. I look forward to meeting you both again
Beryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raewyn v
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very well appointed, spacious, rural holiday base”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Seeking a quiet place in the country for our urban living, UK based young grandchildren we decided on Whitehill Farm. It surpassed our expectations. The grandchildren loved to hand feed the sheep, sheep meal twice a day (there was no prescribed time, just whenever the kids decided to go and do it, independently of our hosts Peter and Beryl). Each of the 3 bedrooms had access to a bathroom, 2 of which were ensuites and the 3rd was a 'family' bathroom right next to the double bedroom. Each of the bedrooms are rather spacious and equipped with a desk and chair. The kitchen is the most extensively equipped kitchen we have ever had in a holiday rental. While all bedrooms had their own tv, the upstairs twin bedroom has a tv with built in dvd player which was perfect for the children to be able to watch on the only rainy day we had during our week there, without disturbing the adults in the lounge. There is a small collection of children's dvds at the house along with various reading material and some games.
The highlight of the house is the large patio area that overlooks the valley.This is a sun trap and the children spent a lot of time playing on the patio. It is a perfect place for a bbq.
The location offers easy access to the Forest of Dean, Wye Valley and Brecon Beacons. There is a 1000acre wood at the top of the farm laneway.
Peter and Beryl are welcoming hosts and very approachable and happy to give advice on places to visit. Free wi-fi was a definite plus, and it seemed to work well and at good speed, until it got taken out by lightning. For the grandchildren, being on a farm at close proximity to animals, the space, peace and quiet offered by the rural location was a huge hit. For the adults the very well appointed accommodation, large sunny patio and close proximity to towns/villages and holiday attractions, while being quietly located on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley was close to perfection for a chilled out relaxing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall spaciousness of the accommodation, quiet location, and easy accessibility to farm for the children.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandsM...
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This cottage is in an idyllic location with beautiful views of the surrounding hills and countryside. We were fortunate to stay during the only warm spell in July and being able to sit outside in the peace and quiet of the Welsh countryside was a real treat. It is also close enough to the main road (A40) to make it an ideal base for exploring Monmouthshire and the south Wales coast.

The owner providing us with Welsh cakes and tea / coffee on arrival added to the friendly welcome we received. The cottage itself is lovely, really spacious. The open plan layout of the kitchen / dining room and lounge really adds to the country feel of the cottage. The kitchen was very well stocked with utensils and equipment (dish washer / ironing board / iron etc) and having breakfast around the large kitchen table made for a nice start to the day.

The 3 bedrooms are again very spacious and the beds were comfortable. Having 3 bathrooms (2 en-suite) was an added bonus. Having an en-suite bedroom on the ground floor was ideal for my elderly parents.

We were lucky to have found this cottage as it is a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities on offer and the location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing