We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency over several visits”
Review of The Coach House - CLOSED

The Coach House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistency over several visits”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been visiting Monmouth over many years but it was comparatively recently (around eighteen months ago) that we first visited the Coach House. Since then it has been a regular stopping off point. The reasons we return are :- quality and consistency of quality of food; friendliness and efficiency of service; general ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBS433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant serves your standard British lunch time hot and cold menu - baguettes, soup, lasagne, ham, egg and chips etc. We popped in for lunch, swayed by the pleasant courtyard and the trip advisor 'recommended' sticker on the window. Unfortunately, we found disappointing. The first table we sat down at hadn't been cleaned, despite it being fairly quiet when we arrived. Our main gripe though was the quality of the food; we chose from the specials menu of freshly cooked items (hoping that the 'specials' menu might offer something a bit seasonal or something that the restaurant does particularly well). I had ham, egg and chips. The ham was of good quality but served cold on a warm plate with a slightly alcoholic tasting cold slice of pineapple, squishy oven chips though the peas and fried egg were good. Another of our table had the beef & ale pie which was a stew with a piece of puff pastry floating on top. The portions of veg and potatoes were all quite mean. It was over-priced for what you got - around £8 or £9 for a dish. Not sure why this restaurant got a recommended sticker (maybe their evening food is better?)

On the plus side, the waitresses who took our order were very pleasant, the food arrived fast and the tea was nice and strong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClarkyCat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Everything just average wot more can you say not cheap for average food just as well go to kings head same food only cheaper

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Accommodation.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I thought that we had stayed at most B&B's in Monmouth, but somehow we missed this gem. The coach House lies down a side street, at the rear of the Wetherspoons pub. We stayed for one night in room 2, a twin en-suite room. It was excellent. It was a quiet night in the restaurant, but we enjoyed excellent food, delivered by the very friendly and attentive owners. I had the sea bass, which was lovely, but it came whole, and I was expecting a fillet. The menu did not say it was a fillet, I just assumed so. The owner must have sensed my disappointment as I picked out the fish bones. He apologised, though there really was no need, and soon provided me with a free glass of port, which was topped up again shortly after. The cooked breakfast in the morning, came in two sizes, small or large. Luckily, I chose the small option, after already having had cereals, tea, and toast. It came with one portion of everything. The large portion came with two lots of everything. Make sure you don't miss this place, we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sierrahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great hosts”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From a wide range of restaurants in the Monmouth area on Trip Advisor we chose The Coach House and we certainly weren't dissapointed. Very good food with a wide choice from both the menu and specials board, excellent service with the hosts demonstrating that they really do care,
We didn't sleep at the Coach House but next time we are in Monmouth we will definately check to see if they have a vacancy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing